Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from franklin, tn

I woke up with 6 bug bites on my body.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
This place either has spiders or beds bugs bc I woke up with 6 bites on my body. Cheap place to stay at but you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. Please know that we have strict policies and procedures in place to prevent issues of this nature. We would appreciate additional information to identify the room you occupied so we may properly investigate and follow up if needed. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to make a better impression in the future. Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Franklin, Cool Springs, TN

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Large refrigerator
Location: Decent location for food and shopping
Had roaches in first room checked into. Was not informed about a $10 per day extra charge for room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hotel Management  , Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered with your room. We appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention and assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable stay, and this time we really missed the mark. We truly regret the inconvenience it caused. We hope you will consider and give us an opportunity to serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management 
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Hotel!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Lock broken on door, three lamps didn't work even after I was given three light bulbs to put in myself, and no hot water!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry the condition of your room was not up to par and we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we want to let you know we are already working to address the problems you mentioned. Our team conducts routine maintenance throughout the hotel on a regular structured program basis. Your review highlights where we need to refocus our efforts, and we assure you we will. We hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance so we can leave you with a much better impression on your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Torn down and something else built in it's place
This place is a haven for drug activity. People just wandering the parking lot at all hours of the night. Did not feel safe here at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary actions to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Horrible experience room was filthy and covered in dog hair. Half the lights didn’t work and when you walked out of room all you smelled was marajauna
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary actions to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills

Maintenance Required

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance
Location: access to shopping and downtown Nashville
The major take away is that this property might want to raise rates so they can hire maintenance people. We were assigned a room at check in that needed to have the dresser replaced and a few other things. We went back to the front desk and asked for a different room. This room was a little better and seemed fine until we got ready for the day when we discovered that the shower tub had an issue that put water all over the floor. We went back to the desk in the morning, to see about getting a refund or yet another room. The last room we were given was better with only a few small needs, we were able to spend the reset of our 5 day visit in that room. Either way I do not believe that I will be returning to this property unless I can be assured that the property has increased it's maintenance on the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Mike, we were disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. We assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in YEARS!!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: checkin staff had good recommendations on local haunts.
Cons: They need to pressure wash, and hire someone willing to change the linens.
Nashville was crowded so we tried Extended Stay, and we checked in late. The sheets had not been hanged and there was evidence of someone wearing dark pajamas, leaving dark lint in the pattern of a person. The walkways show years of evidence of garbage dribbling on the walkway and stairs. Overall it felt creepy. Breakfast was packaged old muffins. Check-in staff was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
We are disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. We assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crappy hotel full of creepy people

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The check in wait was close to 30 minutes and I was second in line, front desk didnt seem to know what they were doing. I had to wait for my room to be clean and then The room was still a mess from the guest before me. The bathroom was a mess, didnt look like it had a deep cleaning in a while, the room smelled like smoke in an evidently smoke free hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize for the cleanliness and service issues you experienced during your stay. We are truly sorry your room was not in the spotless condition as it should have been when you arrived. We have discussed this matter with the department heads and associates to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, not clean hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: there were big refrigerator and stove in the room
Cons: Cleaning inside and outside of rooms
Location: It was close to good shopping center, restaurants, and highway
These guys don't clean rooms every day. they clean once a week unless you pay about $10 more every day. It was my first and last stay in this hotel. The smell of damp at the room was bothering. The worst thing was little cockroaches were everywhere in the room even on the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience during your visit. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of your expectations. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. We will revisit our deep cleaning program so that we can provide a much better experience in the future. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

pretty nice place

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: the easy access to the things we wanted to do.
Check was great because we arrived really late and they were very good about it. The rooms need some work but the gentleman at the front desk said they were working on them so that will be a plus when they are done,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Jen, thank you for sharing your kind review of Extended Stay America. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location and courteous service made it even better. We appreciate you being our guest and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management