Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John P

Fantastically helpful owner

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely rooms in an excellent location a block off the main road. But the friendly, knowledgable and helpful owner really made this visit special for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Totally pleasant stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Most everything.
The room was a welcome haven after a long journey. The staff was extremely warm and helpful. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The Maison Chablis is recommended in a town with lots of guess houses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel very close to local restaurants

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Cons: Other Guest Houses we stayed at were better - hence 4 stars - but don't let that put you off - it's still a very good Guest House.
Good off road parking. Nice room (although just starting to need some attention) - very clean and comfortable. A very short walk from the restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Cosy and welcoming central location

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly staff and great location. Good value.
Cons: Pool area could have been a bit larger with more space for sun loungers
Location: Just two mins from the Main Street with all the restaurants and shops
Very friendly and helpful staff. Superb location just two minutes walk to Main Street with all the restaurants and shops. Comfy room and nice gardens with pleasant pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridport UK

Excellent luxurious hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The rooms
Maison Chablis is easy to find off the main central road in Franschhoek. There is free secure parking. The owner greeted us warmly and showed us the room and fabulous pool area as well as giving us advice on what to do in the area. Our room (one of the 'superior' ones) was beautiful - huge and elegantly furnished with a super-kingsize bed which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also very big and very well equipped with a fabulous large powerful shower. The airconditioning was efficient which was welcome as the outside temperature was 38 degrees. The curtains provided excellent blackout. Breakfast is taken in the first floor dining area and was among the best we have had in South Africa. We had a very good stay at Maison Chablis and ended our holiday with real luxury.
4 out of 5
by claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ben

Awesome hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location for wine tram and awesome hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in Franschhoek

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
I seldom write reviews but this time felt compelled to do so. Maison Chablis is a true hidden jewel in the beautiful village / town of Franschhoek. It offers a very convenient location and a great value for money. The service is exceptionally good starting from the proprietor, James. Adding excellent breakfast, fast Internet connection and very secure premises, this is an excellent choice to stay at. At least it worked out extremely well for me and my dear wife (who is rather picky to say the least...). As for dining, please try Allora within a convenient walking distance from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Luxurious guesthouse in central location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: We had a lovely stay at Maison Chablis. The location is perfect - just off the main street so easy to walk anywhere in Franschhoek. The guesthouse itself was lovely - the room was light and spacious with a big cosy bed. The bathroom was clean and modern. The breakfast was great - a good cold buffet and a full cooked breakfast available to order. There was plenty of off-street parking. James and Jenny were really friendly and helped us get last minute reservations at a couple of local restaurants, as well as booking taxis and tours for us. We would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Franschhoek.
Cons: There was nothing we didn't like - it was a perfect guesthouse for couples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful find

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Maison Chablis - the owner/manager James was a delight, very friendly and welcoming and full of great suggestions and tips. Our room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to the many restaurants and the wine tram tour.