Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Thabang

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017
Dear Thabang Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback Kind Regards Management and TEAM
3 out of 5
by Audrey

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
The aircondtioner kept us out of sleep.The decor of the room is a bit tired and needs to be refurbished. this is what I expect from a 4 star hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Audrey Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay , we as a TEAM appreciates your valued feedback and would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we are currently busy getting ready to renovate our Hotel, these renovated areas are sure to provide a highly functional space with stylish decor for our Valued GUEST like you. Should your travels brings you back to Franschhoek we hope to get the change to welcome you back with our new and exciting product. Kind Regards Management and TEAM
4 out of 5
by Paul

Excellent hotel in an idyllic location

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Franschhoek is a little piece of tranquil heaven, in this most picturesque corner of the Western Cape, yet only an hour from bustling Cape Town
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are indeed delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Management and TEAM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is really convenient for an easy walk into Franschhoek village. Staff are very friendy. Room was a little dated, but comfortable. Nice breakfast. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Spectacular Franschhoek

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful area with easy access to numerous vineyards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but needs bringing up to scatch

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: Some air conditioning in the dinning room and bar area No one in the bar as it was roasting in there
Our room was far to small either boiling hot or when the air con was on which blew all over you in bed it was freezing Don't choose a room at the front of the hotel as lots of traffic and very noisy Complained to the staff next day and asked for a discount but to no avail, they just said take it up with Expedia as I booked through them This is the first time I've made a hotel complaint and put it on a site but I was so disappointed with the hotels attitude
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your stay at Protea Franschhoek. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas and as you noticed, we are currently getting ready to undergo a major renovation of our Guests areas. These areas are sure to provide a highly functional space and stylish décor that meet the modern needs of our valued guests, like you. Thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help and improve our effectiveness and procedures Kind Regards Management and Team
5 out of 5
by STEVEN

Central Frandchoek hotel, great for wine tram!

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here when taking part in the wine tram. Great location. Pool and garden was lovely (of a little small!?) and free parking. Breakfast great too
4 out of 5
by Gert

Convenient, clean & friendly service.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Was very good, excellent breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel and central

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Very comfortable hotel. Staff excellent. really central and easy to get around. Overall loved our stay.