Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic value

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Comfort, prices and location
Cons: Zippo!
Location: Stayed here so we could walk the Franz Glacier Valley walk while exploring the West Coast
What a great surprise - was on a budget trip up the West Coast so this accommodation absolutely surprised us. Warm , clean, comfortable and walking distance to all shops, restaurants etc Excellent value for money - would definiteley stay there again. Staff pleasant and helpful, left something in the cottage and had a call within 10 minutes to let us know. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Would recommend, great location. Staff helpful and booked our helicopter flights too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view of mountains

Posted Oct 16, 2016
The room was adequate, the bed was unsupportive and not conducive to a goods night sleep, the bathroom didn't have quality fittings and the shower had cracks, the kitchen is very basic with a microwave but no hot plate to cook the bacon and eggs. There is parking but it was difficult with a larger vehicle. The room has a fabulous view on clear day, its close to the centre and everything was within easy walking distance. I thought it was overpriced and the quality wasn't great when comparing other places we stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location. The size of the room.
Cons: Nil
Location: We only stayed overnight so we only did the Franz Josef Glazier walk which was fabulous>
This was the perfect place to stay. Right in the heat of town. Very quiet. The room was very large and had everything we needed. It would have been easy to stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded Expectations! Perfect in every way!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The cottages are quaint, comfortable and very clean. They are unique from the normal motel/hotel setting. It was as if we had our own little house!
Location: The cottages are located on a quiet side street within a 'stone's throw' of a restaurant and the corner leading to the main street. Perfect setting!
We were very impressed by the cleanliness, the comfort and the quaint setting of these cottages. They are right around the corner from the main street, close to a restaurant and other amenities. Yet, they were set apart from the motel after motel after motel that line the main roads. These cottages are a hidden gem! Ours was spotless and it suited our needs better than we had expected. Words cannot express our high degree of customer satisfaction with our cottage. It was superb!! A supermarket is 5-7 minutes walk away and it had everything we needed for an evening meal and breakfast before we checked out. It was a pleasure to have a kitchenette after staying at hotels requiring eating out rather than eating in. We can't say enough about these cottages. Ours was perfect in every way!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Franz Josef mountain views accommodation

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful, good location and very comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Cosy and peaceful

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Lovely cosy little cottages in a peaceful spot with well equipped kitchenette. Plenty of places to eat in Franz Josef but also there's a good little supermarket on the main street if you want to eat in. Comfy bed - complete with electric blanket. Good shower and great to open the bathroom window straight on to the forest! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Nice and clean. Shame there wasnt any scones at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Nice location close to main street with restaurants bars and glacial helicoptor flights. Nice clean chalets and nice touch by receprionist giving us fresh muffins one evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: Rooms were cute and location superb
Location: Hiking, glow worms, kiwi experience, hot pools
I did a fairly last minute booking for this hotel. I wasn't expecting much and I can't express how much we loved staying here. The check-in was so smooth and the front reception staff were fantastic. We had a cute little cottage that had a double and a single bed; a small kitchen and table and chairs. The kitchen had all the equipment we needed and allowed us to prepare our own breakfast. The room and bathroom were really clean. The shower had good water pressure. Location was amazing - steps from glow worms, Kiwi experience and a little further the hot pools. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend.