Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We had a lovely night here very quiet relaxing place to stay with beautiful views. Our room was really nice was a shame we only had one night. Will be back again one day. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

A full one bedroom apartment.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We only stayed one night, but it would be great for a longer stay. Fully equipped kitchen, real dining table, sofa, two lounge chairs, small but very nice bedroom. Bathroom was also nice with a stand up shower, but no tub. There was also easy parking and a nice deck. It is a 4K from town, but an easy drive back to restaurants. Very quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

I'll be back!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Keith was very helpful telling us about the place with directions and friendly advice. The cabins are modern, clean, well equipped kitchens, lovely hot shower & the most comfortable soft bedding...slept like a baby! Free DVD library. Minutes drive away from the glacier that you can see in the distance from your window. Quiet location. Cannot fault this place! I'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Beautiful room but pricey

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Our 2 bedroom room was lovely and spacious. The complete kitchen was a nice bonus. The setting is quiet and serene. It would be nice to be walking distance to town, but it's a quick drive. The reason for a 4 instead of 5 is the price. We had a similar room in Greymouth for half the price! I realize this is a popular tourist area, but I wouldn't stay here again since I can do better with accommodations in town if I just book a bit earlier. Things were pretty much sold out so we were stuck. I've traveled to 75+ countries and have never paid so much for a room before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Keif, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review our Retreat. You will be extremely hard pressed to find any fully self contained accommodation in the are for less than we charge unless it is a back packer style venue. We hope you had a safe travel onwards.
5 out of 5
by Anu

Nice self service place

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The location is a bit outside the Franz Josef village, so a car is a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Mel, Hotel Management
Agreed - that is what makes us special - peace and tranquility away from the hordes of shutterbug fanatics.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glaciers stopover

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly reception, quiet location but not far from attraction
5 out of 5
by SIU KING from Hong Kong

Great stay in this resort

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
We have a great stay in this resort. Though this resort is not located at the center of Franz Josef but only several minutes drive can be there. Further the staff here is helpful and nice. The kitchen here is well-equipped.
5 out of 5
by Reetabrata from Melbourne

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great place to stay with great surroundings.
3 out of 5
by Neil from Surrey

Franz Josef, only OK in good weather

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Franzoni Josef is all about the Glacier. Sadly the weather was so bad, (heavy constant rain and low cloud), that we couldn't take our flight up to the glacier. Walking to the base of it was ok, but wet and there was very little of it to see because visibility was so bad. Accommodation at this Motel is average. They seemed to suffer a lot of moths during our 2 day visit. Rooms are basic. Cooking facilities good. Staff from Yorkshire helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ontario

Nice Hotel close to the glacier and town

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: The owners went out of their way to help us with things like dinner reservations.
The owners are efficient, friendly and informative. The accommodations are very clean, quiet and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2016 by Mel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Mel & Nigel