Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely room with beautiful views

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very comfortable room and beds. Excellent view of the snowcapped mountains from room. Great location close to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sharing your experience with the wider Expedia community. I am pleased to read that you have found your stay very comfortable. Thank you also for sharing the central location of the hotel within the Franz Josef township. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Lovely accommodation in Franz Josef

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable bed. Great facilities
Cons: I liked the place a lot but would have used a spa pool
Location: Walked as close to the glacier as possible. Would fly to the glacier if we had enough money Nice restaurants
We booked on the same day we arrived, travelling around the west coast. Bed was comfortable - very important! Shower was nice and facilities were good. Clean room Definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. i am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please stay in touch and visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable bed

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfy bed. Walking distance to restaurants and spa. Across the road from scenic helicopter ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for especially mentioning the high level of comfort provided by our beds and the central location of the hotel. Best wishes, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Great view of glacier

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Check in staff very efficient and welcoming....restaurant on site
Location: Location perfect...easy walk to town centre and other activities
We had a queen suite which was spacious with a great view of the glacier from our room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear jill, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sending us your review of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. It is pleasing to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted May 4, 2017
Amazing views of franz Josef glacier and friendly staff that would go out of their way for your comfort. Would definitely recommend this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and for recommending us to others. It is so rewarding to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Simple Clean Hotel, Great Water Pressure

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location, Shower Water Pressure
Cons: For the rating and needs of a mountain hotel it is fine. Not over the top luxury but very comfortable, the wifi also worked relatively fast.
Location: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk, Fox Glacier, Lake Matheson , Gillespies Beach (day trip down 12km windy road).
We drove into Franz Josef from Fiordland without a hotel booking as we were trying to avoid bad weather. Luckily for us we didn't have a single day of full rain during our 10 days in New Zealand. We spent two nights at the Scenic Hotel and loved the water pressure in the bathrooms and proximity to town. You can easily walk to various restaurants or the local grocery to pick up snacks. Driving to the Glacier Valley Walk/Hike from here is also quite easy, you can also opt for the conveniently located shuttle. Beds were comfortable and clean, same goes for the bathroom. The (doorless) closet was relatively large as far as hotels go and we fit both of our suitcases inside it (they were able to fit in open as well).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear tatyana, Thank you for putting pen to paper and posting a review of the hotel on Expedia.com. It is rewarding to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would not hesitate to recommend us to others. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
3 out of 5
by Tassaluck

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017
Dear Tassaluck, Thank you for your rating on Hotel.com. Yours sincerely, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Photos are often misleading!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
$300 per night for a room that was not worth any more than $200. Would have almost accepted that if the WIFI was good... it didn't work at all. 2/10
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel , Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not feel that your experience with us has provided you with a value for money feel. However, trust that a return visit would provide you with a completely different experience. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great place to stay in Franz Josef! The room itself is spacious and well equipped with a small fridge, plunger coffee and tea, plenty of glasses, 2 chairs for reading and comfortable beds. Better lighting in the entry way and a better place to keep shampoo or bath gel in the shower would be good, but these things are minor. Every person on staff we talked with was very helpful and exceedingly friendly. Also the hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to good restaurants, the glacial hot pools and the kiwi center. Definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sending us your lovely review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would not hesitate to recommend us to others. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel right in the hart of town.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Shower very open resulting in very wet bathroom floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Alexander Tschampel, Hotel Management
Dear Mother of 2, Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us. I am pleased that you highly rate your stay with us. Best regards, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier