Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to town and mountains

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: As stated above the shower was amazing.. better than some motels that cost way more. Situation was great. Cost was brilliant.
Cons: Teach your staff to use a vacuum cleaner. Clean sheets would be a plus (mine had a wads of someone else's all over it.)
Location: Location was Franz Josef glacier, location is amazing. That is not your problem here.
The hotel was below standard the beds were comfortable but the sheets were horrible and the floor had not been cleaned the television was in the wrong place in the room and couldn't see it. the bathroom was clean and the shower was excellent.
5 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, Republic of Korea

잘 지내다 왔지만 다시 갈일은 없을들..

Posted Jul 17, 2016
상당히 규모가 있는 호스텔입니다. 이용객이 많아서 그런지 주방과 라운지는 항상 붐비고 시끌벅적합니다. 겨울에는 라운지에 있는 따뜻한 벽난로 앞에서 커피한잔하면서 여러 국가에서 온 여행객들의 조언을 들으며 여행계획을 짜면 그렇게 좋을 수가 없습니다. 스탭들은 대체로 친절하지는 않습니다.. 질문을하면 비협조적으로 대답을 해주더라구요..
5 out of 5
by Linda from Stellenbosch, South Africa

a wonderful stay!

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay. The only small criticism, is that maybe the room could have been aired a little during the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hostel Right in Town

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Great time at Franz YHA. Everything is within walking distance!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Clean and friendly hostel

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Friendly and clean hostel in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Good facilities including a large lounge and kitchen that are open 24/7. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shared bathrooms, which are relative few for the amount of people sharing them, are always clean and tidy. This is a good value option for seeing the glacier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and a different experience

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Good position, good value for money, great kitchen and refrigeration
Location: Fox and Franz Glaciers and Lake Mathesson
Our experience was great and we will certainly use YHAs again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good everything we needed

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Wotif
Great staff very approachable and helpful. Great kitchen busy though adequate. Room comfy even had our own balcony.
5 out of 5
by Doyeon Kim from 수원


Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
다녀보았던 YHA 모두 훌륭하여 뉴질랜드여행중에 반정도는YHA에있었습니다. 고객이 원하는 부분을 맞추어준 훌륭한 곳입니다.
4 out of 5
by Maria from Örebro

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Utmärkt backpacker-ställe att stanna på.