Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brissy

Beautiful location

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs some updating new carpet etc
Location: Lovely peaceful
Lovely although on the first morning we were disturbed by someone banging a hammer in the room above it went on for at least 30 mins from 810am.. I was glad we left the unit early so as not to hear it if it continued. When we left we saw a hanyman carrying things up stairs. It didnt happen again so i didnt complain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: All the above
Cons: Most of the staff were great - the odd grumpy one could learn from them!
Location: Great location and all activities available in Hervey Bay
Very comfortable, minor problems fixed quickly (TV not working) - well equipped - great location for beach, boat harbour, esplanade walks or cycle - great views, lovely pools - grounds well maintained. Only criticism was not well insulated from other rooms (could hear people talking if they had loud voices) but compensated by facilities and position. To watch the ocean come and go, be on the beach in 2 minutes, 5 min stroll to Boat Harbour for Boat Club and other restaurants, beach sports - public bus nearby if needed - undercover parking good. Would definitely stay again. Initial staff were not very welcoming which is not a good start, but others were great and really helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, beach at our front door.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: The unit needs attention throughout.
Location: Location excellent. Nice walking paths.
Sorry, but the unit is needing a good revamp, even a good clean would help. Location was terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely views and swimming pool. Great location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, swimming pool, views
Cons: Maybe a tray and one or two plastic containers will be nice.😀
Location: Lovely restaurants nearby and cycle and walking paths.
Loved it. We thoroughly enjoy this hotel, have been here a number of times before and it is the only choice for us. Will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Overlooking the beach and pool at a great rate.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Room, view and facilities.
Cons: The games room is outdated. Needs to be brought into the 21st century.
Location: Next to the Marina and a short walk to the Urangan pier. Boating, fishing and associated water activities. Decent shopping is a 10 minute drive away.
This is not a 5 star resort and the price reflects that. So, in terms of value for money it's very good! 2 pools, 2 tennis courts, a lovely view and a decent sized balcony to sit and enjoy it. Our unit had a new kitchen including dishwasher and up-to-date furnishings. There are also BBQs for guests and residents near the tennis courts if you prefer that to the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Wotif
Stay here often . family friendly great facilities and location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Peaceful with uninterrupted ocean views

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We have stayed at Great Sandy Straits Resort many times in the last 15 years. Even when we look at other accommodation options we always end up coming back to Great Sandy Straits because it just can't be beaten - value for money, self contained rooms, grounds and rooms are always immaculately clean and tidy, but most of all the location can't be beaten. All apartments overlook either the beach or marina with no roads in between apartments and water. It is literally only metres from the apartments to the sea and a nice sandy swimming beach located right in front of the units too. What more could a family ask for? Love it, love it, love it - highly recommend! Actually love it so much we chose to get married out the front of one of the units!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Older style facility but close to each and marina

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location close by the marina to launch our boat and access tourist activities, tours etc.
Cons: Not sure ?????
Location: Resort is located at th Urangan boat harbour so very close fo water activities and access to Fraser Island.
We have stayed at this resort before so knew what to expect. Excellent location and value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nundah, Brisbane.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Cleanliness, peaceful. Pools, tennis court and a playground for children.
Cons: Fridges need to be check as ours wasn't cold. Freezer was great.All activities
Location: Activities close by.
Was a great place to stay. Affordable. Close to beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caloundra Qld

Close to the beach

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Great Position
Cons: needs a refurbish all over,..
Location: Great Boat Club in walking distance and great location if you where doing whale watching...
This is a very run down complex smelly dirty furniture only a double bed very uncomfortable and old and smelly pillows. It is in a great position on the beach and close to a great boat club ... we put in a request for quiet away from the pool and upstairs room ..we had to change rooms to try and get what we asked for the room they allocated us wasn't ready when we arrived and had to wait 1 hour .......we won't stay there again very disappointing.....