Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel set in a forest, like Center Parcs

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The location and layout.
Cons: Nearly all hotels offer free Wi-Fi but not this one. It's not cheap staying at the hotel so it's a bit mean charging extra for Wi-Fi.
Location: Full day beauty spots tour - take your swimming things. Fishing off the jetty - take a rod, lures for bait fish and heavy line/hooks or hire onsite.
The whole experience was lovely, from the ferry trip to the island, the hotel, the weather and the trips - we swam in the hotel pool and watched a wedding reception taking place poolside! We even saw a bandicoot snuffling around in the undergrowth near our room. The free walks with the Rangers are informative, and the full day beauty spots tour, whilst quite expensive, was very good. The only disappointment for us was the fact that there are 3 restaurants on site but after the first night only one was open meaning that you didn't have the full dining options that were advertised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Location - Facility Tired

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Good for its age .. but needs a major reno.
Cons: Food, needs to be of quality and reasonable price. Remember you are trapped on the Island ...
Location: The 4WD taxi Service was great ....
The location was terrific! The room was quite a good size but the bathroom was oh so 70's .. now water pressure and the Shower over Spa bath a "death trap" if you slipped...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great place! Highly recommended! Great spot for 4wd adventures!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Hi Adam Thank you for posting a review in this forum. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay while making your own tracks exploring Fraser Island and very much appreciate your recommendation. On behalf of all the Kingfisher Bay Resort team, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was amazing but the staff needs to be more friendly and good in customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

very convenient location & easy to get to

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Location & facilities
Cons: Th resort did run out of ham & also pineapple which made my sons pizza for dinner a little plain. There was also no vanilla for his milkshake.
Location: We were just looking for somewhere to stay until we caught up with some friends.
We stayed there for a night until we met up with some friends. It was great to relax before we began our camping, 4wdriving & fishing adventure.
4 out of 5
by Ola

Very nice stay, rooms not top notch.

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in normal hotel room. Room was quite dark and worn down. Whole place is very dark and "foresty". Pool area is nice and so is main complex. Fraser Island is an awesome place to visit and Kingfisher Bay is a good base but if I go back I'd try the resort close to 75 mile beach (Eurong?).
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Convenient

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Highlight of our stay was 4x4 day trip
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Friendly and knowledgeable staff

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and amenities for a stay on Fraser Island. Friendly and knowledgable staff with many tours and trips (some free) on offer each day. A number of restaurants and bars on site too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

food could use some work

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: great location. really nice and accommodating staff, clean facility
Cons: food at the Sand Bar and Bistro
Location: you can find a wide variety of things to do from the resort from 4x4 adventures to watersports rentals.
The food at their Sand Bar and Bistro was not up to resort standards. We ate there a few times during our stay (only kept going back because the other restaurants were so expensive) and the only food we would suggest is the pizza. We spent 3 weeks on holiday in Australia and this was the only food that we did not care for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Hi brett Thank you for posting letting us know what we do well and where there is room for improvement. I am so pleased you enjoyed discovering how unique the island and resort are with some of the many activities on offer and very much appreciate your kind words about all our staff. Please accept my apologies however that some of your meals failed to be as impressive as the rest of your stay. I would like to assure you that I have passed your feedback onto Chef as we are continually looking for ways that we can enhance guest experiences and do hope that you also let our staff know at the time as we are equally committed to resolving any problems while guests are still with us. On behalf of all the team, we wish you well in your future travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Beautiful spot close to beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Wotif
Needs more staff to run a resort at the price they're charging. Also every room should come with breakfast seeing how as there is no other spot on the island to get it.