Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Fraser Island is a great place to visit and should be on everyone's bucket list
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star recommendation. I wish you well in all your future travels and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back to Kingfisher Bay Resort. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than what I expected

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Room very clean & bed comfy. Pool is a bit old but overall much better than what I expected
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to post. I am very pleased you found your room comfortable and trust you enjoyed some time exploring the island and all its beauty while you were with us. On behalf of all the team, we wish you well in all your future travels and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Kingfisher Bay Resort again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel... not so great management

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We enjoyed our stay but we're disappointed in the staff. The front desk staff were too busy having a joke to interact with us and were unable to correct charges when brought to their attention. No one could smile or be polite - the exception to this was Vincent in the day spa (you were amazing and hilarious) and the lovely desk lady on our check out who couldn't have been nicer. Perhaps Mecure could address their staff issues?
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear H Thank you for posting. Providing all guests with superior service is very important to us so it is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we failed to impress. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that your constructive feedback has been shared with our management team allowing for it to be addressed within each department and high service levels maintained. We also trust from your comment about check-out that your charging concerns were rectified and appreciate your kind words about Vincent that we’ll be sure to share with him and his manager. On behalf of all the team, we look forward to the chance of welcoming you again in the future and serving you much better. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Great location but staffing shortfalls.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: Restaurant & bar staff.
Can't beat the location and the experience of Fraser Island. However the restaurant and bar staff were un-friendly, slow and not very helpful. This combined with very high rates for meals & drinks doesn't make for a great experience. Buffet breakfast by the third day of our stay had run out of a lot of supplies and staff didnt appreciate being queried to access certain items. Additionally the tables were left not being cleared for long periods of time at breakfast time. No water available most of the time and juices not kept cold. Hotel rooms were comfortable and kept well. Reception very busy at peak times with only one staff member equipped to handle the volume of people at a good pace. All and all probably a 4.5/5 review brought down to a 3/5 due to poor staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear Caleb Thank you for your review. It is very pleasing to hear you found your room comfortable and trust you enjoyed some time exploring the stunning beauty of the island while you were with us also. Our team strive to provide exceptional service and unique experiences to all our guests so it is disappointing we failed to impress with service in our restaurants on this occasion. Please be assured we have shared your constructive feedback with all of our managers in this area and are working hard to make improvements to menus and identify training opportunities for our staff. On behalf of all the team, we look forward to serving you much better by welcoming you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Perfect location

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: I loved the fact it is an eco hotel and was right in the middle of the forest. The beach was perfect for sunsets
Cons: Improve staff relations and food quality.
This hotel has been let down by some staff and there slowness to smile and say hello. Greet guests in the morning with a Good Morning! not just a room number? Bar staff so slow and once again not very friendly. Service and customer first I was always told when I worked in hospitality. Stand outs were Jay? the shuttle driver and Craig the tour driver. The food was ordinary and very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny Thank you for taking the time to post a review in this forum. I am very pleased you enjoyed the design of the resort, ensuring minimal impact on the natural environment and had the opportunity to witness our spectacular Fraser Island sunsets. Your very kind words about Jay and Craig are also very much appreciated and I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to them both. Please accept my sincere apologies that your dining experiences and some aspects of service while you were with us fell short of expectations. I would like to assure you as a team, we are listening to guest feedback and as well as identifying further training opportunities for staff, are presently reviewing a number of our menus. On behalf of everyone here at the resort, we look forward to welcoming you for an even better stay in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM
5 out of 5
by Iben

Unique Resort

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
If you want to stay at Fraser Island we can highly recommend to stay at Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort. The staff is very professionel and the resort is unique. You feel like being in the nature but at the same time you have all the great benefit of the hotel. Remember to take at beutiful spot tour with Martin during your stay. An unforgettable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you for your highly complementary review and recommendations Iben! I am very excited you enjoyed your holiday in our very unique and stunning natural environment and will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff including a special shout out to our very passionate tour guide, Martin. On behalf of all the team, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming to create more lifelong memories again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Island paradise....almost!

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 nights stay with my wife to celebrate her 50th birthday. Very good weather and great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi. Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special milestone with a stay at Kingfisher Bay Resort. I trust you both enjoyed some time not only exploring beautiful Fraser Island but also relaxing while you were with us. On behalf of all the team, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Wonderful piece of paradise

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were absolutely fantastic, could not be more warm and helpful across the board.
Cons: Seafood buffet no longer available. That is the only disappointing thing.
Location: Gorgeous piece of serenity, resort has everything you need with the best sightseeing and day tripping you could ever hope for. Beach, Lakes, Fishing,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by KB, Hotel Management
Hi Colin Thank you for posting with five stars! I really appreciate the time you have taken to do this and am thrilled you enjoyed another fantastic back to nature getaway with us at Kingfisher Bay Resort. Although seafood buffets are no longer available every weekend, we are currently these over select weekends leading up to Christmas. If you won’t be here to take advantage of these, don’t dismay as on any other night, an indulgent seafood tower for two is available in our Maheno Restaurant. Be sure to pre book though as they super popular! On behalf of all the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Island again very soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: The trolley to take your belongings to your room had flat tyres
Location: Nice little walk amazing views
If your in the room below it will be a little noisey due to the rooms above you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie Thank you for posting a review and for your very kind words about all our staff – I’ll be sure to share these with all the team. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by the trolley you mention. I have asked that all of these be checked and any issues rectified straight away and do hope you let our team know at the time also. On behalf of everyone here at Kingfisher Bay Resort, we wish you all the best for the rest of your travels in Australia. Kindest Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The range of resort based activities is very extensive
Location: Full participation in whale watching & Fraser Island Tours can be done from here, but they have an array of other activities to keep everyone going.
We went on a Fraser island Day tour and one of our group expressed a wish to stay on Fraser Island overnight. The room rate was quite reasonable and apart from a shower in the bath instead of stand alone, the room facilities were very good. We dined at the Seabelle Restaurant and four of us had the same excellent entree. Breakfast was easy with three price levels (coffee & toast; continental and full) Whilst we organised our whale watch tour and our Fraser Island day tour, we noted that such tours can be arranged through Kingfisher Bay Resort. Fraser Island is an extremely interesting and important part of Australia's ecology and should be visited by everyone at least once in their life. If you don't have your own 4WD, there is only one place that you can stay on the Island and Kingfisher Bay Resort is it - you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by KB, Hotel Management
Hi Darryl Thank you for posting a review in this forum letting us know what a fantastic time you had at Kingfisher Bay Resort. In addition to the many activities you mention, we have recently introduced Archery, Laser Skirmish and a Segway PT Adventure to the list and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Island to give these a go soon. Kindest Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.