Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel in good setting

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Had good and bad experience. Lost luggage to start. Staff were friendly but understaffed in restaurant. The tour was simply amazing, have to go on. Our guide was simply the best, Big Dave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Les, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and also share these amazing pictures. Please accept my personal apologies for the inconvenience with your luggage. I am pleased to hear your experience turned around and you enjoyed the rest of your stay and your tour. On behalf of all the team, we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie- Resort GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Great way to spend a few nights...

Posted Nov 27, 2017
So much better than camping... Great outlook from our room over small lagoon! So many options for dining and food was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, Thank you for posting a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have personally passed on your feedback to our Food and Beverage Manager. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Nov 21, 2017
all is excellent relaxing staff are great thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Luisa, Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your positive comments to our staff. On behalf of the team we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Baillie- Resort GM
4 out of 5
by Pene

Lovely stay, restaurant food need vast improvement

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely, staff were great, our room was nice (slightly dated decor styling). The only real disappointment was the food at the restaurant. Terrible buffet breakfast, possibly the worst one I have ever had. AND... the only coffee included is black (and bitter), the only milk options provided were COLD milk & COLD skim milk. I have never known anywhere to not provide a coffee machine that heats your milk? Dinner includes a buffet for entree & dessert, main is off the menu, I ordered the Neapolitan vegetarian Ravioli, and got undercooked "packet" ravioli, the kind you buy from the grocery store (not cool for a $37 price tag) and then the dessert buffet was filled with all sorts of dried fruits, coco pops, syrups, fruits, chocolate chips... but no actual dessert. No cake or slices to be seen (and no empty plates to indicate there was going to be any). It was very odd to have all theses accompaniment, but nothing for them to accompany. I eventually asked a staff member, they said that was all, I expressed it was not quite satisfactory and 15 minutes later they did bring out 1 plate with some Red velvet cheesecake on it, so they did try to remedy the situation, but it should not have been a situation to start with. (Oh and both nights they forgot one of our 6 meals we ordered... both nights...???) However, I would happily go there again, I would just take my own supplies and make an in room breakfast, and I would stick with a meat & veg dish at dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Wotif
Had a great time. Room needed some cutlery and bowls etc. Stayed for 10 days, didnt even have a microwave
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting, it is great to hear you had a great time and trust you also took the opportunity to explore the island while you were with us. Although some basic kitchen items are provided in hotel rooms, as they are not self contained, for guests who are looking accommodation where they can self-cater more, villas offering a kitchen are available. On behalf of all the team, we wish you well in all your future travels and look forward to the chance of welcoming you again soon. Kindest Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good stay

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Lovely rooms
Cons: The dining situation was a nightmare - definitely book as soon as you arrive. We did this and so got to eat, there were many guests that did not.
Location: Canoeing great fun and saw lots of Ray fish. The Private Tour was very interesting
We chose not to have our room cleaned, but did not receive the $10 off our bill. The restraint was not well organized and there were many cross guests that could not get a table, so book on arrival. Breakfast is good but very expensive and The Sands Bar just by thr Pier was a lot more reasonable for dinner. The trips and experiences are all great and we enjoyed our stay. Sadly we did not see any Dingos nor much in the way of wildlife but the Lake and 75 mile beach were amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort. Family friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Great place to unwind and relax for our family holiday. The villa was a fantastic option. Some of the staff could have been more friendly and welcoming however we enjoyed our experience
4 out of 5
by mirja

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Mainland and Resort dont communicate well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Jodi, Hotel Management
Hi Mirja Thank you for posting another review expressing your concerns regarding communication. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and be assured, your feedback has been passed along to the offices you mention. I also note the offer to provide further feedback that may assist these teams in making improvements to their processes is still very much open. On behalf of everyone here at the resort, we wish you all the best in your future travels and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, QLD

3 night stay

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Villa size is decent but resort is looking a little tired & in need of updating (for price paid). If you don't have 4wd this is good choice however I think Eastern side of island more practical if you prefer to go exploring in your own vehicle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Dear Samantha. Thank you for posting a review in this forum. Your constructive feedback regarding your villa is very much appreciated and as these are privately owned, has been shared with our Villa Coordinator so she may pass them along to the individual owner. On behalf of all the team, we wish you well in all your future travels. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Fraser

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Well designed hotel in a beautiful setting .Restaurant is a bit expensive ...........
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by KB, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review! On behalf of all the team, we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Kevin Bailie, Resort GM.