Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice front staff, good breakfast!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Terrible sleep from noise from highway. Television was not working at all, our door would not lock, it was broken. Good breakfast though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Rat poop, no hot water, construction

Posted Jan 5, 2017
I checked in with my two children. I asked for a quiet room. They gave us a room on a floor that had half the floor under construction, workers grinding and sanding drywall, area not even tarped off. Corridor hazy with dusty atmosphere. I went into the room to call front desk for another room, the room they gave us was filthy with what looked like rat poop on the floor as well as white icing like residues scattered around on floor. I called front desk and they did not answer, I went down to front desk and explained my concerns, told them of the condition. They did not acknowledge that construction was an issue ( it was about 8:00 pm ). They gave us another room on a different floor. In the morning I found there was no hot water. They offered to change my room again to one that had hot water ( apparently they were aware the room had no hot water ). We promptly left (6:00 am ). Super 8 offered me 25% off a future stay, I was not interested. I've used Expedia.ca many times in the past and this was a horrible experience. I felt unsafe with my family at this location. I hope to get some feedback to explain why I should trust Expedia.ca and not tell everyone I know of the horrible experience. Super 8 said it is not their problem because I used a third party to book the room. I feel ripped off and humiliated. I took pictures of the room with terrible conditions and construction in the hallway, incase someone actually reads this and decides to rectify the situation. Mike R
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, VA

Frederick Super 8 -- In Transition

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The staff is incredibly helpful and attentive. The location is probably the key selling point, despite the noise from passing tractor trailers.
Cons: It appears that the hotel is already working towards improvements, but if one thing could be replaced it would be the elevator.
Location: Frederick holds a downtown event on the first Saturday of every month. Even without the event, there is an interesting mix of shops and eateries.
The hotel staff was excellent from check-in to check-out. Unfortunately, the hotel was in the midst of a renovation during our stay, which is why I rated the hotel condition below average. In my mind the renovations show that the hotel management cares about the quality of their facilities and shows they're making efforts to stay current and comfortable despite the obvious age of the building. I took a point off for cleanliness because some of our bathroom linens were stained, but the staff brought us replacement linen when we made them aware of the issue. Due to the proximity to local highways there was noticeable background noise from large trucks. The best things about the hotel aside from the staff was its location. It was a short drive from the hotel to the holiday event we attended, we were close to the highway, and Frederick's downtown shopping area was a short drive away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel was quiet and comfortable. the breakfast is a bit sparse but you can't complain for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No surprises

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Stayed overnight with son on hiking trip. Room was was worn and dated but clean. There were no surprises - satisfactory room for the price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Once you step inside the lobby you will change your mind. Smelly, dirty, RUDE staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Jacuzzi room

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: This room was awesome..was told by staffer Jim it was recently remodeled had a big 2-person jacuzzi tub in the corner and mirrors all over ...
Cons: No working ice machine on our floor.
Location: Safe location and about 10 minutes to most things
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from live local

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: That I only needed to sleep there for 6 hours.
Cons: Overall cleanliness and updating of place.
Used stairs to go outside and the stairwell smelled off urine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

very disappointed and dissatisfied

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The staff is very nice however the hotel needs lots of repairs. The hallways had a lot of repair patches, the curtains in my room were broken, the continental breakfast was awful, and not all ice machines worked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just to sleep comfortably for the night.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Old looking, dirty carpet, creepy elevator. Musty smelly room.