Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, basic hotel in Thurmont, Md.

Posted May 24, 2017
Hotel is your basic model, but the price point is pretty low. You get minimal amenities, but if you're looking for an inexpensive place, this is it. Staff were friendly and eager to please.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Super 8 , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We really appreciate your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Okay for a Gettysburg visit

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: It was a reasonably short drive to Gettysburg.
Cons: Upkeep of the rooms
Location: Gettysburg was close by
I would rank this as an okay hotel for a 1 night stay. There was a hole in the bed sheet (so I put a towel over it), and not all the lights worked. There was also a slight smell of smoke in the room, and it was a non-smoking room. In addition, breakfast was a little disappointing as there was not milk for cereal--this indicated that there was not good management planning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traveling!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Poor front desk personnel, very poor TV reception, terrible breaks fast bar, and we will never stay there again. Note we stayed at the Gettysburg Super 8 the night before and our stay was o.k. The motel was empty and that should have given us a clue to stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Super 8 , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thurmont, MD

Nice place to rest

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I made my reservations online and drove there late at the night. The staff at the desk were very kind. Room was clean and a comfy bed to sleep on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wake Forest, NC

Only hotel in Thurmont MD

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild new
Location: N/A
Room lighting was poor at best and the bath tub/shower was not clean. Had to go out and buy Lysol and Tilex before I could take a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Super8 Thurmont, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Quiet, comfotable, close yet away.

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Front desk staff was extremely polite, professional, and accommodating. Pleasant experience and id recommend to friends and family!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Management, Thurmont Super 8, Hotel Management
Thank You for the Review. We are glad your stay with us was pleasant and we hope to see you again. Have a Super Day!
4 out of 5
by Jamie

plenty of free parking

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was conveniently located right off the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jamie, Thanks for the great review. We are glad to be of convenience to you and look forward to seeing you again. have a Super Day! Management, Thurmont Super 8
4 out of 5
by Lori Ann

Doing great things!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
With some reviews, I was concerned. No need to be! Looks like the management is trying to update things! Nice stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Lori, Thank you so much for the great review. I am glad you gave us a chance to show you how we are trying to improve the motel. Have a Super day! Management, Thurmont Super 8
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL.

Remembrance Day at Gettysburg.

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Orbitz
I arrived on the evening of the 18th of November. Check in was great. The room was confortable and adequate for my needs. Location within 21 miles of Gettysburg worked out great. Also convenient to Shsrpsburg, Md.where I visited on Sunday. Overall it was a good stay. Chech out went great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Management, Super 8 Thurmont, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. Were happy we could me your needs and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. have a Super Day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice people very helpful close enough to things to do but quiet evenings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a great review. Were working hard to improve our hotel and make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again. Have a Super Day! Management, Super 8 Thurmont