Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

good time

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: room could of been cooler
Location: eating , jet skis, snorkeling, diving
would of been nice if they would of contacted me that there hotel was under construction and certain areas were close this may of changed my mind on going there.
4 out of 5
by David from London

Great spot for stay and/or food

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very nicely surprised by this little gem. Simple but effective and very juice beach, grounds and cafe/restaurant/bar. Our room was next to the road instead of the beach which was disappointing but wasn't the be all and end all, we had a lovely stay. The food at the restaurant is fantastic and Alex was great at the bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel far from everything...literally

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: On the beach
Location: Nothing. Far from everything.
We were there during the lead up to the Easter holiday. Locals in the area camp out for I'm pretty sure a week before the holiday. It was a ton of noise late into the evening and we could leave NOTHING on a chair as the children were taking everything in sight. I am a fairly laid back person and can roll with the punches, but I saw kinds taking scuba gear from chairs on multiple occasions. The other downside is the hotel is far from EVERYTHING. You HAVE to get a car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: proximity to the beach.
Cons: Rooms to be insulated, less noise around, breakfast daily.
Location: Hardly anything nearby was open
hotel is in the worse part of St Croix. No breakfast ever. Restaurant open for brunch and dinner only certain days of the week. TV had limited channels access. Too much noise around hotel. Rooms not insulated. no privacy.
5 out of 5
by Phillip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pahrump, NV

Good beach resort

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Just a nice, clean, friendly resort
Cons: Having reception open before 9AM-and an attendant who can help with luggage when you are on the third floor with no elevators.
Location: Right on the beach, shopping for groceries & restaurants close
Nice resort-right on the beach & within walking distance to town for shopping, restaurants, etc
3 out of 5
by Robert from Texas

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff is excellent and very courteous. The restaurant was one of the best we experienced on the island but is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. The room felt small only because of the king bed with was our preference. The furniture and décor are in need of an upgrade. This hotel is incredibly clean for being directly on the beach and someone is always cleaning something or keeping up with the very nice vegetation. It is right on a nice beach but adjoins a public beach that can be quite crowed on weekends. As with previous reviews we experienced intermittent loud music from teens in cars passing by but that was never experienced past 7 or 8 pm. It is a bit on the expensive side but if the rooms were renovated that would be no issue. We would definitely consider staying at this hotel again despite the comments. Rent a car as there is a lot to explore on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Location: We didn't have a car. Walk into town in evening after dark too dangerous. Had to use taxis for that and groceries.
We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere - no background music. Guests were friendly and had stayed at Sand Castle for multiple seasons. Food at restaurant was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The location is nice, it is located walking distance to the beach!
4 out of 5
by Mrinal

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Good overall stay. Great beach.