Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Hotel. Excellent beach.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Closeness to water. Beach. Dining area right on the water. Comfortable room.
Cons: Rooms were noisy at times. Restaurant closed Tuesday and Wednesday. Shower water temperature unpredictable.
Location: Location on beach was great. Not much close to hotel to do. Had to take taxi to town or walk 20+ minutes. Dive shop N2 the Blue in town was great.
Very nice hotel right on the beach. Beautiful sunsets every evening. Great beach area. Close enough to water you could hear the waves from our room. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Fun on St. Croix

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable. Nice restaurant.
Cons: Daily sweeping of sand on floors in rooms and more frequent bed linen changes due to sand would be an improvement.
Location: Great snorkeling near resort. Frederiksted was within walking distance. Rain forest near by.
My wife and I Stayed on St. Croix the week following Christmas through the new year. We spend a fair amount of time researching destinations and resorts for our vacations. Came across Sand Castle on the Beach on the web and it looked cozy and relaxing. We gave it a try and were very pleased. We spent only a couple of days exploring the island. Most of our time was spent relaxing on the beach and watching sunsets from the resorts. Just the winter vacation we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great quiet place on a great quiet beach

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and on a great beach
Cons: tv offering
Location: Situated on a long quiet beach great for swimming. Watersports and scuba places nearby - I loved the paddle board place. Some restaurants near,
I was greeted warmly and they upgraded my room which had a great porch with partial ocean view and the sound of gentle surf.. The room was immaculate and had a fridge, microwave and flat screen tv with little on but you wouldn't want to stay in the room. The beach was long, white, quiet with no seaweed and great for swimming or snorkeling. The restaurant - closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays - .wasn't too expensive and the food was excellent. It also served great drinks you could take to the clean pool or adjoining beach. It was very quiet and low key as was nearby Fredericksted which is what I wanted. Glad I had a car. Paddle Boarding place nearby had a great café with the same great sunsets as the hotel every night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Castle on the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Excellent costumer care from the hotel stuff and excellent location close to everything. The bartender makes great drinks, I miss most of them ! Restaurant was very good too. Breakfast little poor, shou be better. The room was very large and confortable with a nice patio right in front of the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Best little island getaway with unsurpassed beach.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Beach access and adjoining restaurant
Cons: Towels, more variety in AM continential breakfast and leave coffee and water out all day.
Location: Easy access to fun places, cab or car.
Staff goes above and beyond what is necessary to make your stay pleasurable. Kelly, Irene are sensitive, fun, kind. This resort feels like a family away from home. It is a fun gathering place for local island people and visitors. The adjoining restaurant staff including Chef Brandon, Matthew --etc. are also a part of a welcome group. Chef Brandon is a talented chef with unique, delicious creations. He is truly a great addition, his dishes are some of the best we have had, and # 1 on the island. If you want a quiet, welcoming, fun, site with the best beach on the island--STAY and EAT (Beachside Café) here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Good location, needs updates badly

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels were terrible. Breakfast. Room amenities. Reception.
Location: Dive off the Frederiksted pier. Nothing else in the area.
Great location right on the beach with easy access to the beach. Hotel room needed a lot of work - TV was placed in the upper section of the closet so only half the screen could be seen, even when lying flat on bed. Room was small. Bathroom was tiny with very little water so a shower was very tedious. Breakfast was pathetic - even for a continental. Had to ask for tea, water wasn't even warm. Hard, dry English muffins with cream cheese and sad looking pastries. Best part is the location on beach and restaurant facing the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing atmosphere

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The staff are very friendly and actually knew my name and were happy to chat. This is probably the first time I relaxed in a long time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Illinois

An Unexpected Surprise

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent location on a clear beautiful beach. We were in a one bedroom suite that had a full apartment sized kitchen that was very well stocked.
Unfortunate circumstances necessitated an additional night on St Croix but after being booked in to the Sand Castle most worries were forgotten! All of the people we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and help relieve the travel frustrations. Food and drinks at the Beachside Cafe were all excellent. If we ever return to St Croix we will definitely spend part of our week at this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina from Kansas City, Missouri

Nice Hotel ON the Beach

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: On the Beach. Great Restaurant.
Cons: hot water for showers
Location: On the Beach. The town of Fredriksted has lots of great little places to try the local fare. the Rainforest is nearby so visit the Domino Club
Nice Quaint privately owned spot on the beach. The staff are phenomenal!! Sparkle greeted us our first night and made us feel right at home. Irma, Nisha and Kelly were always a pleasure and all so helpful at the front desk. The restaurant is awesome! Love Chef John and his staff !! we took in the sunset every night sitting by the pool over looking the beach area. Excellent snorkeling, swimming beach. Even locals love to come hang out here! We met so many wonderful people. It was pretty quiet thru the week until Sat, Sun when there was a cruise ship in town. We rented a car and got out and about to other beaches and attractions. Would definately recommend and can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful vacation spot.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
This hotel is charming and very well kept. The location is beautiful with an incredible beach. The staff was very helpful and always pleasant. Our room was very comfortable. We would recommend it highly and we will come back.