Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice location, Near University

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Location and character, Room has a small living room and separate sleeping area
Cons: A new mattress
Location: Close to the University, nice little restaurants within walking distance, lots of major restaurants and shopping 10 min away
The location was perfect, close to the University where I was visiting my daughter and within walking distance to restaurants. The hotel has lots of charm. Disappointing that the restaurant or lounge were not open. The room was pretty decent, lots of space and character. The bed was not the most comfortable. The price was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrisburg, pa

Great hotel in town

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Hotel was very clean and the rooms were lovely ! Beds were very comfortable and close to SUNY Fredonia . Would definitely recommend this hotel !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago IL

Nice rustic inn in center of downtown.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: quiet and charming
Cons: heat in the rooms
Location: close to downtown
Nice clean rustic inn. In center of downtown; so in walkable distance from attractions. The only problem was the heat. It is steam heated and in my room the radiators did not seem to be able to be regulated. So the room at night was very hot. I had to use the wall a/c to get the room cool enough to sleep in; but after midnight the steam would be cut off and in the middle of the night I had to use the wall unit to heat the room to a temperature that was not too cold. The steam does not come on until some time later in the day. Other than that it was nice. So I would not recommend in the winter at least for my room; in the spring or summer it should be fine.
4 out of 5
by Judith

I'd stay there again.

Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
We found the White Hotel west of Buffalo after travelling for the day. Such a delightfully furbished old inn with wonderful character - so much nicer and more reasonable than chain hotels in the area. Close to restaurants, etc. Staff was quite friendly.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Alone

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We were the only guests in the entire hotel. Bar and restaurant has been closed for some time. One person staff. Continental breakfast was bagels on a tray in the down stairs lobby next to coffee pot. No coffee in our room. We were on the third floor. No out going mail service. No umbrellas to borrow to load up our car in the rain. Expedia really screwed us this time.
2 out of 5
by paul

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
The T.V didn't work the wifi was horrible wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from big flats ny

Quaint

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Exceptionally quaint, not filled with modern convience but very classic mansion . It’s a slice out of time and very fun to be immersed in historical setting. Staff is very friendly and more than helpful and willing to add to the old world flavor. Quite relaxing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Was our second stay at the White Inn. The first stay was fine with a clean room, dinner in the restaurant, and a suitable continental breakfast in the morning. This stay was not fine with a tired room that felt dirty (carpeting was stained, pillows were clearly well-used, and the bedspread was just grimy) and closed restaurant. Would have left if we were staying for more than a night. Restaurant is closed for good and the hotel is for sale which explains the current state of the place. Room was grossly overpriced for what we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and right down town

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Staff was great. Very quaint hotel with lots of character . Room on line said there was sleeper sofa but there was not one. We got cots so it was fine although they were a bit aged