Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by JOHANNA

Stay over Weekend-

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff at reception-very efficient and helpfull- Thanks -we felt very much at home-from driving into the property-gatekeeper -big smile- thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Amazing experience; very friendly staff!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
From the security gate, to the bar staff, to the front desk and management, every member of the team that work at this hotel will make you feel at home! Outstanding service and support throughout our stay made it so much more enjoyable to visit Bloemfontein. Definitely reccomending to everyone planning on staying in Bloemfontein! 5 stars!!!!
4 out of 5
by Sanjith

Protea Marriot Willowlake Value for Money

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and service excellent! The chef went out of her way to make me a lovely vegetarian curry delivered to my room since I was too lazy to stroll out to the eating area. The complimentary fruit plate was also an answer to a lazing Sunday in my room! Thank you for going out of your way - management needs to take a bow, especially Bianca!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mhlengi

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mhlengi, Thank you so much for your review on Hotels.com. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the Protea Hotel Willow Lake. We hope that we will welcome you back soon. Best wishes Kind Regards Heila Bezuidenhout Marketing Plan Co-ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein Willow Lake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London-Uk

Modern hotel in centre of Bloemfontein with views

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The views
Cons: Well difficult to think of anything - well the Pool could be heated
Location: Centre of town so everything
Lovely, new, clean and modern. Staff brilliant and friendly. Basically hotel borders on Zoo with views of wildlife while still in centre of Bloemfontein. Unique Room clean, linen crisp, food great - I can definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Heila Bezuidenhout, Hotel Management
Dear Anton, Thank you so much for your review on Expedia.com. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the Protea Hotel Willow Lake and that you shared your valued experiences with us. The hotel can assure you that the shortcomings that you mentioned was most definitely discussed with our General Manager. We hope that we will welcome you back soon. Best wishes Kind Regards Heila Bezuidenhout Marketing Plan Co-ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein Willow Lake
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with friednly staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is conveniently positioned and the staff were exceptionally friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you so much for your review on Expedia.com. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the Protea Hotel Willow Lake and that you shared your valued experiences with us. We hope that we will welcome you back soon. Best wishes Kind Regards Heila Bezuidenhout Marketing Plan Co-ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein Willow Lake
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly ,clean,great location

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was awesome. Friendly staff and the perfect location. The staff was extremely accomodating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good business stay

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant two night stay. Staff are courteous and helpful. Buffet breakfast at 185 was good if U hungry type.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Originally from Bloemfontein, now in UK

Ok, not exceptional and not great value

Posted Nov 18, 2016
The hotel is ok, the rooms were suitably clean and beds comfortable but nothing exceptional, especially considering the price. No fridges in any of the rooms, the clear glass shower is right next to the bed which provides no privacy and the reddish lighting above it does not create the most romantic or flattering of images - though two friends also stayed at the hotel and one of the 3 rooms actually had a shower curtain so no consistency there! I asked the question and was told it is standard for a 'modern design' yet have stayed at several newer hotels which were much better designed. Basin is also in the main room next to the bed so the only 'facility' that has any privacy is the tiny toilet! We stayed for two nights and I do not think any couples travelling together would enjoy a stay for longer than that as the rooms are quite small and poorly designed. The decor is fine though whoever painted the rooms could not colour within the lines, 'wardrobe space' was awkward and the zoo is quite sad and run down which, as an animal lover, was heartbreaking to see. It does not come close to the standard of any other hotels of a similar price range I have stayed at (in SA and abroad) and I would not recommend it as there are better places in Bloemfontein around the same price range.