Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Basic hotel open

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Simple, basic no thrills hotel with excellent staff and clean, safe place.
Cons: The hotel is being renovated and repaired due to minor damage from Hurricane Matthew.
Location: There is absolutely NOTHING to do near this hotel right now. Either a taxi or a boat ferry to take you for food or shopping. Beach is nearby.
This is one of the very few hotels that are open after Hurricane Matthew hit the island this past October. The hotel is simple and basic. No thrills, but clean and friendly. The rooms and general areas are again very basic and in need of updating. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and repairs due to the hurricane. Do not expect a fabulous resort type hotel. But, if all you need is a place to sleep, this is a good hotel. If you expect resort type luxury, this is not it. But being fair to the hotel staff and owners, this hotel is a very good deal. The staff was very attentive and cordial. And most important is that there are very few hotels open due to damage from Hurricane Matthew. And that is indeed a blessing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
No coffee maker, iron, or Microwave in rooms. $20 room key deposit. Very uncomfortable mattress. Old bath towels. Old outdated furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pleasant staff and quiet location, nice beach located across the street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, New York

Novel experience for us

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Sitting in the gazebo with coffee in the early morning
Cons: Wish you had decaf coffee and that sugar had been available in the room. Light switch at the door appea.red to not be connected to a light.
Location: Nice location
We enjoyed the room over the water and the distance from any heavy vehicular traffic. The grounds near the sea were well kept and we enjoyed a beer at the grotto bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Don't waste your time or money

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Awful conditions...room was dirty, light bulbs were blown out...took a day to get a replacement. Room flooded from rain coming in under the door, had to use all the towels to stop flood. Door did not lock properly. Location is out of the way, away from everything. Must take taxi or water taxi to get any where. Water taxi was available, when it was in service. Very noisy guests on both sides of us, which didn't seem to bother management. As a frequent visitor to the area, there are several much better places to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near beach,pool.Hospitable staff.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: More goods in the store
Location: Good location,many options for fun.
Was ok.went to lucaya marketplace, attended beach bonfire etc,and met a few nice people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to Tatino beach

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Cons: This is your basic hotel/motel type accommodation. No central air but air conditioning units in the window that work fine.
I found the Flamingo nice, clean and very close actually across the street from beautiful Tatino Beach. The rooms are basic but clean. They come with a small fridge, toaster, coffee pot, a couple of forks, knives and plates. There is no hair dryer so bring your own. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The water taxi which sits outside the back of the hotel takes you into Lucayan Market place for shopping or dinners. $6.00 return fair. I would definately return to the Flamingo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Quite & Secluded Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Nice, quite hotel.
Cons: Vivian front desk agent need customer service training. Lots of it.
Location: Quite. Walking distance to smiths point(fish fry) and the beach. Other places, need a rental.
On the night of my check-In on Friday October 23, 2915; I was greeted by Ms. Amanda with a warm personality, great customer service. On the second night, went to the front desk to have a early check-out but the rude lady (Vivian) had a very nasty attitude! Her customer service was not the best at all! I think she need to seek some customer service training! And on the morning of my departure, Sunday October 24, 2015, I was checked out by Ms. Marissa who worked the 11-7 shift, she to greeted me with her warm personality and great customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brazilian living in South Flirida

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Calm and beautiful beach, w restaurant. In front if hotel, just across the street. Big pool w slide, wet bar. Ferry is on the back of hotel only 15 min from the Market area. We rented scooter and had a lot if fun!! Hotel is not fancy, but I loved the location and the beach!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Pool.
Cons: Price. (lowered) Outside appearance of the hotel
Although the hotel looked a little shabby from the outside, the room itself was clean, it had all the appliances required for a comfortable stay and all facilities worked. The staff were helpful and friendly. The short walk across the road to the pool and beach was no problem, the pool was excellent, very accessible for those with mobility issues and even had 2x30m "lanes" for the more serious athletes. A water taxi is available taking guests to Port Lucaya - the shopping, restaurant, bar area of Freeport. A little effort on the outside of the buildings would bring this hotel up to a very good standard, I didn't like the "party doors" to the next room, these may put some clients off staying. I thought the price was a little high given the basic nature of the accommodation, but this is a common problem in the Bahamas, it is very difficult to find good, affordable rooms.