Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnite stay between dive boat and flight

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location and beautiful setting Would be a gem but needs some sprucing up. Painting and a good housecleaning would help Grounds and pools are beautiful Invest in your hotel and take pride in hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Terrible stay! Will never go back!!!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything!
Location: Very good.
Hotel claimed not to have the reservation at first, which was not the case. They made me wait for them to search it and put it in....VERY frustrated because they were so disorganized. I paid hundreds of dollars for one night for a room in the old building that they said because I booked through Expedia, that was all I qualified!!!! The room was musty and smelled old. The curtains old and torn.... I will never return to this property!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nassau, Bahamas

A+ Staff

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff made the experience pleasant.
Cons: My first room was nestled among large shrubs. There was also an unsightly large machine parked on the grassed area in front of my room.
Location: The location is superb for the island. It is in walking distance of beaches, shopping, clubs and restaurants.
It was my birthday weekend and after not being fully pleased with my room, I was upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Dominique Sawyer, Reservations Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review, your opinion is very valuable to us! We would love to have you with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrific view!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The view and location was tremendous! However, the bed was pretty awful.... There is a huge difference between their top rooms and their standard rooms in quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Bad customer service!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Hotel Staff were unprofessional, unorganized, no sense of priority or urgency! Hotel was dirty, bathroom was never cleaned especially the bath tub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Check in takes forever. Reception staff is inefficient. Several people waiting to check in. When asking for a parking permit I was told to come back later. When I asked what "later" meant, she said 15 minutes. When I came back 1/2 hour later I had to wait another 20 minutes. My room needed updating badly. The fixtures are corroding, mattress sagging terribly, sheets were ruffled. I've stayed here many times in the past and each time it gets a little worse.....this was probably the last time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

It was very nice and clean

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I had a great experience I would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pompano Beach, FL.

Pelican Bay - best hotel on the island of Freeport

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Everything other than my room on this visit
Cons: Room 323 & perhaps upgrade the breakfast selection
Location: The location is fine. Unfortunately, most everything around the hotel is either closed, under construction ands your tourism rate is almost nill!
Due to business - have visited Freeport many many times over the past 12 years. Pelican Bay is by far, the best hotel on the island. The consistency & professionalism of the staff is far superior to any other hotel in Freeport. With that said, this particular visit was a bit disappointing simple because of the room. It was not the standard of room I have always enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great property / outdated rooms / rude staff

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The location is exceptional, the property is nice, great on site restaurant, easy access to town.
Cons: Rooms are pretty awful......beds literally felt like they were broken, bathroom was extremely dated and weathered with rusting fixtures, rude staff
Location: Great location walking distance to Lucaya activities......
I don't expect much from society these days regarding customer service and 95% of the hotel staff fell extremely short of my already low expectations. Most didn't even address your presence or were flat out rude. Rooms need a simple renovation......showing age and basically falling apart and rusting. The pools were nice as well as a prime location. We had to constantly ask to keep the hot tub heated which was annoying. Breakfast was descent but extremely rude staff made it less enjoyable. On site restaurant was great and they had fairly friendly staff. My guess is the success of the hotel is solely based on location and exterior appearance......definitely not the staff or rooms. I am not recommending it but with the exception of the much higher priced Grand Lucayan resort, this may be the next best thing.....not sure how other hotels stack up in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Very convenient to everything. Would definitely stay again.