Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Burbage

Germany for business

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Second visit for business. The staff were welcoming and remembered my name, which was a nice touch. The restaurant was excellent. Dated back to 1500's.
3 out of 5
by Corinne from Uk

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast very expesive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Comfort:

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Everything..
Cons: The weather.
Location: Ideal for anyone travelling to France or Switzerland.
Very comfortable with a very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately it was raining during our stay so we were not able to take advantage of the beautiful gardens. We did not have dinner but the breakfast was fantastic and catered for all tastes.We will definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area. As we were travelling through it had easy access to the A5. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Stockport

Great overnight stop on way from UK to Italy

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
We used this hotel as a stopover point from UK to Italy. I'd already emailed the hotel to ask if we could arrive early which was no problem and they responded quickly. We actually arrived even earlier. Our room wasn't ready but they said it wasn't a problem, Then on mentioning we had just got married when showing passports and booking in different names they upgraded us - even better! The room was lovely, Very quiet which is what we needed after an 1( hour journey! It's out of Freiburg but we chose that especially as we had luggage in the car and this offered secure parking for 10euros. Freiburg is a short metro ride away and stop was only a 5 min walk from hotel. I can't comment on food at hotel as we didn't eat there but the breakfast looked good when we checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Extremely nice hotel but see note ons staff

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Excellent room, excellent pool, excellent underground parking, excellent restaurant staff.
Cons: Reception and minibar staff.
Location: Beautiful street
Perfect in so many ways. Excellent room, excellent pool, excellent underground parking, excellent restaurant staff. So, what's wrong? it maybe trivial but it annoyed me that the lady stocking the bar entered the room at the same instant she knocked on the door. She say sorry but I could tell she did not care and I suspect she does it all the time. When I mentioned this to the check-out lady on the following day I had hoped she would say that the matter would refer to management. She even seems to find it semi humours which slightly irritated me. This minor point is annoying, otherwise it is a first rate 4-star hotel in a lovely street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC Canada

General impression overall.

Posted May 5, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. It is a midsize hotel and despite the building being old, it is well maintained, tidy & clean. The staff are very friendly & helpful. They were eager to accommodate our needs & requests, such as providing food when we returned late at night after room service was closed. This was done in a friendly and courteous manner. We can recommend this hotel without reserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Wonderful hotel where you can jog along the river

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Very much
Cons: A Bigger bed
Location: Very easy to get access to down town Freiburg
Hotel staff was wonderful, the breakfast was good, 5 minutes walk to tram station toward down town Freiburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Nice hotel comfort and small, small rooms great location and very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet hotel just out of town

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool very welcome after a long drive, and secure underground parking.
Location: Just out of the city But easy journey via tram
Reception greeted us warmly and were very helpful. Great breakfast, clean modern room. Quick and easy to catch a tram into the city.
3 out of 5
by Jose from São Paulo

Nice clean hotel, but not worth the price.

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
I wasn't familiar with the Clarion brand of hotels, and I booked this hotel expecting a nice old hotel around the center of Fribourg. For those unfamiliar with it as well, please note that this is an economy chain (similar to Ibis) and that they provide the absolute minimum for your stay: small room, minimum comfort and generally a business oriented place. Note that the quality was decent and the hotel was impeccable (clean, well made, everything working and nothing too old) but it`s not the kind of place it appears to be, it`s a terrible hotel for a romantic getaway and is very very very far from the city center.