Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel am Munster Platz

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night. The room was rather old fashioned but clean and comfortable. It was on the small side but adequate for one night. Breakfast was served in the hotel nearby . You had to walk out and around the corner 3 mins away. The breakfast was good..plenty of variety .The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is in a good position in the middle of Freiburg opposite the Cathedral ...rather noisey early morning bell ringing ! Only 4 parking spaces belong to this hotel...and they have to be paid for. Its difficult to find and drive to ..You have to drive very slowly through the pedestrian precinct ! We enjoyed our visit but wouldn't choose this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Marina from England

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted to explore The Black Forest. This Hotel was a fantastic base.It's a 10 minute walk away from the main Bus and train station and situated right on Freiburg's pretty square- perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great location in the centre of Frieburg

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Charming location and room was changed at our request without any fuss.
Cons: The church bells are noisy at 6 am but didn't trouble us!
Location: Lovely town with traditional shopping and great Christmas market.
A short break in Frieburg to see the Christmas market.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from State College USA

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is one of the gems of Freiburg and my choice for every stay there. It is centrally located, has charm, and has good management in every respect. In meaningful details and attention it excels every hotel in its price range that I have ever stayed at in the USA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo Canada

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Enjoyed the hotel. The staff was was very helpful. We could walk every where with ease.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Denver

Nice B&B-type hotel in perfect location

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for a night last week and loved it. It is perfectly situated in the heart of town next to the cathedral (ask for a cathedral view). The staff is very friendly and spoke fluent English. It was a little weird having to access our room from either the side alley or through the restaurant, but this was no big deal. The breakfast (included) and was a very nice buffet. I definitely recommend the restaurant for dinner as well. We enjoyed the old-school, B&B-type feel to the hotel as the charm and tradition are palpable, although it does feel a little cramped at times. We definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Dennis from Washington state

Pampered stay

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hard to locate, but worth the hunt. We enjoyed a pampered stay. No complaints everything was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

EXCELLANT LOCATION

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The location was good for us.
Cons: Breakfast was not as good as we had experienced in other hotels. Wifi was very poor and the television for English speaking people was useless.
Location: The local history was interesting, the shopping was very good and the pedestrian street pattern was most welcome.
Well located in the most interesting part of Freiburg across from the Munster and near good shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Small and comfortable

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Room wifi only in part of the room
Location: Virtually right by the Munster, handy for the old town. Lovely town in lovely setting.
Nice little old-style hotel in the Altstadt. Room was small but fine for me. Breakfast is a short walk out to the historic restaurant. Good for a short stay.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Moscow, Idaho

Great hotel in the pedestrian friendly old town

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
An exceptional neighborhood in the center of Freiburg. Our room was large and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was in the other hotel building, which we thought was weird, but turned out to be great - right on the square as the market started up. Be sure you know what to do parking wise as you have to drive on pedestrian streets which we didn't know was ok to do until it didn't matter anymore and we had cursed the GPS to death.