Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Louise

Great hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing bad was that I arrived in town late and had to leave the next day! Great hotel. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Houston, Texas, USA

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Just overnight-ed during lengthy train trip. Being Sunday night, the restaurant was not open, and the bar had no ice and no guests.Front desk staff efficient but certainly not friendly. Reasonable value.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from San Diego

Freiburg is golden

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed in the Rheingold several times in the past for biz when visiting Freiburg. I just love the "family" feel and their service-orientation. The Rheingold is conveniently close to both the train station and the City Center. They have typically been my "first choice" every time I visit Freiburg. I did have a couple complaints about my visit this time: - Their TV service did not include local radio channels as do many German hotels in which I customarily stay - Their "free wifi" was extremely limited in bandwidth and required me to purchase a secondary "membership" with Boingo in order to even be able to obtain music in my room.
4 out of 5
by Roberto from São Paulo

Well located, clean, but ...

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is well located, clean and have a good breakfast. I could not use Wifi (it is not so easy to get the password to it), and at checkout they asked to pay cash as the credit card machine (only one) was broken.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Freiberg

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to the train station
5 out of 5
by Robin from Calgary

Excellent staff.

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were excellent and very helpful. Great location.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Los Angeles

Great Staff!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
It is super convenient to the train station and a few minutes from the center of town. Staff were super helpful with suggestions and requests. It is an older hotel with the basics and good for a quick trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel for city tour

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Except for the shower tray drainage which was a little clogged, everything else was near perfect