Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westfield, In

Very historical

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Enjoyed learning about the history of the hotel- also enjoyed the jazz band playing in the atrium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Jesse Johnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and I am glad that you enjoyed your time. I have always enjoyed the history of our hotel as well. We would be glad to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful, unexpected grand hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Spectacular atrium Nice spa Comfortable rooms Clean bathrooms Beautiful grounds
Cons: Facilities still need additional work Restaurant offerings
Location: Rolling hills in Brown County, IN Nice, pleasing country surroundings
Stayed one night on a business trip nearby. Grand old hotel, felt like on a movie. Lots of character
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Jesse Johnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. I have always enjoyed the history of our hotel; it really does give the hotel it's own character. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself while you were here. I as well hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a great rating! We are glad that you felt that we were able to provide a wonderful experience while you were with us.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us! It is important that we are able to exceed guest expectations, so it is wonderful that we were able to provide that level of experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Relaxing. Easy to get around complex using free shuttle.
Location: Beautiful gardens, walking areas, casino, great restaurants, golf.
Wonderful to relax by the giant Christmas tree in the Atrium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is definitely something to see

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The history and how well everything is kept.
Hotel is beautiful, Bob the concierge was entertaining and helpful. Really enjoyed talking to him. Food was so so, not worth the expense in my opinion. Looking forward to going back in the spring when we can get outside and roam around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FRANKLIN, United States of America

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Area and things to do. We went to rest and enjoy the scenery.
Cons: liked it. The price was a little high, but we wanted to stary there at least on night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world elegance & beauty. Waffle House service

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: It's a beautiful, classic hotel in the middle of nowhere!
Cons: Service.
I've always wanted to visit French Lick and have heard so many great things. I'm an avid golfer, making the trip with my two young children and wife over the weekend on the way back to NYC after visiting family. No golf this time around, but checked out the dome, gardens and attractions. The hotel is no doubt amazing. Although, we'd read online service was not. Call us snobs from New York but if this place wants to truly be top notch, management needs to train associates & food to be on par with Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton type hotels. It simply wasn't. Servers were down right rude. We went to eat in the dome at 7:30p. MANY tables were open but they told us it would be a 40 min wait. Then we realized there were only two servers working. The same thing happened during lunch at The Power Plant. Food was pedestrian at best. Granted the restaurant became busy the two servers were also rude and sadly understaffed. I finally sent my wife off to the gardens with one of my children and waited to pay. I couldn't get anyone's attention for at least 10 minutes. When I finally did, it looked like the manager - who gave me attitude. Then ran the card and brought the bill. I signed quickly, while texting with my wife to explain what was happening. In the midst I didn't realize they didn't bring back my credit card. I picked it up the next morning. Then upon landing in NYC received an email from AMEX about a $284,000 charge attempted at the hotel. Not kidding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Lots to do
Great place had a great time facilities are excellent