Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel looked very nice, but our experience was not so good. The beds were hard, and you could hear everything going on outside. We did not get any sleep. The staff was very limited. They did not have an elevator. They did not provide parking of any kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Fabulous hotel built in the 1800's!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
If you want charm, ambiance, and want to be truly a part of the French Quarter this is your hotel. Don't stay here if you want the Omni or Marriott luxury. We love this hotel! Location is perfect. Near restaurants, shopping, Jackson Square and even the oldest pharmacy in the US immediately next door! Fun!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fantastic baragain

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, and comfy beds. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Boutique Hotel in the Heart of the French Quarter.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Hotel St. Helene had the friendliest and most welcoming staff of any hotel at which I have stayed. We loved the old buildings charm.
Cons: The hotel seems like it was under constant care. It's an older building and seems to be treated as such.
Location: This hotel is in a great location. Cafe du Monde, popular restaurants & bars, parks, and cemeteries are close by.
I could not be happier with our stay at Hotel St. Helene! The staff was top notch. The building is old with a lot of charm, so it does not look like a brand new 100+ room, cookie cutter building. We really enjoyed staying in a building that had authentic New Orleans features with modern updating. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe room. There was plenty of room for two travelers. The sitting area was comfortable. The bathroom had a beautiful tile shower and floor. The air-conditioner and fan, really did the job during our stay. We traveled during mid August so it was 95+ degrees outside most days. Coming back to the hotel to cool off in the room or pool was such a treat. It is an interior room but has a window that overlooks a small interior courtyard with sunroof. The location of the hotel was extremely convenient. Cooling off during the day or stopping back to the hotel was never a problem, because it was so close to most of the things were doing. When we went on a swamp and plantation tour, which picked us up right at the hotel. The pool is private and beautiful. Being at a smaller hotel, there were less guests using the pool. In fact we were lucky enough to have the pool to ourselves whenever we were using it. I would see other guests enjoy the patio tables throughout the trip also. The water temperature was perfect, however I don't know if that is based on the season we stayed. The pool water was very clean. I would highly recommend Hotel St. Helene.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

One night stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I don't like the late 4 o clock check in, or the fact there's no parking but there's a place to park almost right beside the hotel for $35 for 24 hrs. Check in was easy, I had the first room on first floor. The back is open so I'm glad it wasn't cold out, but I love the look of this. It goes straight back to the pool and it just looks beautiful. I was worried about the noise because I could hear everything during the day but I had no problem sleeping the beds were so comfortable and I honestly didn't want to get out of them. The water in the shower was hot, and bathrooms are nice. The only thing is the vents on the ceiling could use some cleaning. Other than that it's was great and I'd stay again.
5 out of 5
by Phillip

NOLA overnight

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was great until we actually laid down to sleep!! The mattress was in bad shape, me and my wife sunk to the middle of the bed!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eric

Great place

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel with great location and parking in lot next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice, reasonably priced hotel in French quarter

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Its primary advantage is its location in the heart of French quarter.
Cons: I do not think much can be changed.
Location: The hotel lived up to our expectations, all major attractions were within easy walking distance, this includes restaurants, the river, and River walk
We had a good time in this small hotel in French quarter, the staff was very friendly, good restaurants were within a walking distance. The only inconvenience, just as with all other smaller hotels in the area, is parking, hotels do not have parking facilities.