Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego,ca

Beautiful hotel perfect location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Perfect location. walking distance to almost everything. Right outside of the french quarter and close to Frenchmen Street.
We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Loved the hotel. Our room was like our own little apartment. Perfect location for walking almost anywhere. Loved being outside of the French Quarter but able to walk in easily. Front desk staff was great,welcoming, pleasant, and knowledgable about the area. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Customer service at its best

Posted Oct 15, 2017
From the moment we arrived it was nothing short of amazing service. Yes the Hotel is beautiful and so lovely balcony's pools and amazing amenities. But it was the service that was the stand out Everyone was not just friendly and accommodating but truly loved working there and they knew the area and provided us with were to go who to see and most of all just offered to help with everything from our luggage to transportation. Kudos to whoever does the hiring training and makes all of the staff feel appreciated as well as letting them know the job they do is not only important but they are appreciated. Thank you for a wonderful stay even during a Hurricane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Excellent stay. Surpassed our expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

We love it!!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel is wonderful . Those hotel was quite, Hubble, and beauriful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Beautiful Mansion

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very large room - maybe a little more lighting and full length mirror otherwise couldn't fault the place. Complimentary cheese and wine every afternoon and lovely cooked breakfast. Fresh coffee also made during the day even though you have coffee making facilities in your room. Ice machine available. Mini mart shop very close for alcohol and food. Loved the French Quarter easily walking distance to main drag. Staff super friendly and helpful. Loved our stay other guests also very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Really cool Hotel, great location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Loved this place! We stayed in #5 guest house and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Was hoping for a pillow top but other than that it was great!! Love the pool, breakfast, coffee and happy hour!! Would love to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a very nice pool. Next to a bar.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel staff is very nice and have good recommendations. The rooms are spacious and with modern showers. Great experience. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Favorite Hotel in New Orleans

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Everything! Beautiful, clean mansion and very quiet. I also loved their pool area. I felt like I was more at home rather than a hotel.
Cons: I would like for them to add a bike rack for guests who rent bikes. More breakfast options (possibly, oatmeal and fruit variety.)
Location: I loved the location of this hotel. It is located on Esplanade Avenue—walking distance to the French Quarter so you are close to food and festivities.
This was my second visit to New Orleans and I enjoyed myself more than I did during my first visit. It is a beautiful place. The people, culture, and food are unmatched and I can't wait to return. Melrose Mansion (MM) will be my go-to hotel in NOLA moving forward. It is beautiful, clean and quiet. MM gives you an authentic living experience rather than staying at a huge chain hotel. The staff are personable, friendly and responsive. We chatted with one of the staff members and she gave us a brief history of the hotel which was also very interesting. Located on Esplanade Avenue, you are close (walking distance) to the French Quarter which is full of great food and festivities. If you are not up for walking, you can always take an inexpensive cab ride. My boyfriend and I rented bikes and went up Esplanade Avenue to City Park which took us about 20 minutes to get to. It was a beautiful experience and a great way to see the unique homes in NO. MM is also located in a safe and quiet part of New Orleans. I mention this again because oftentimes people assume being close to the FQ means that you can hear partying on Bourbon Street at night from your room. This is not the case—you will get good sleep and rest after a long day of enjoying the city. Or you can relax by MM's pool which is immaculate, comfortable and private.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crowley, La

Loved our stay!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Loved our stay at the Melrose Mansion! It's very beautiful! I think it would be even more awesome if they offered a few better breakfast items like quiche, shrimp and grits, omelettes, or fresh baked muffins! Just a suggestion! But overrall we loved it and will plan to stay again in the future!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. close to Bourbon Street and street car

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The look, the location and the fact that the guests were more quiet than mainstream hotels
Cons: As stated above, the continental breakfast
Location: Jackson Square, French Market, Bourbon Street, Street car for transporation
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms a bit older, so had to actually dead bolt the door in order to keep it closed. Room very clean, with modern updates to the washrooms. Continental breakfast had much to be desired, not what I was used to from other hotel stays where continental breakfast was provided