Ratings based on 4,382 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great New Orleans location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Everyone friendly, helpful, efficient
Cons: Outer window needs cleaning - prolonged street construction likely a contributing factor
In the heart of the French Quarter- we so enjoyed our week at the Sonesta!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, La

Nice hotel, staff very nice and accommodating.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location was good for where we needed to be. Loved the atrium area.
Cons: It's great the way it is.
Location: Location was great. We weren't in New Orleans long enough to enjoy the sites. We had a function that we attended away from the hotel.
We were only there for one night. Would have loved to stay longer. Friendly staff, comfy room and we felt very safe and secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westtown NY

New Orleans

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Construction outside was a distraction, Otherwise, excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Oct 21, 2017
It was a pleasant stay there. Employees were amazing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Our family has stayed here for years and would never consider staying anywhere else but Royal Sonesta while in New Orleans. Staff goes over and beyond to make your stay a wonderful experience from the moment you arrive until you leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bourbon street construction

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Great hotel and super restaurants and jazz club. Unfortunately the city is doing construction on Bourbon street right outside the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Amazing staff

Posted Oct 19, 2017
I stayed here on my honeymoon and it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurants and bars on the main level of the hotel were great. Our room was very comfortable and we loved our balcony overlooking Royal St. I highly recommend Royal Sonesta!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Hal, Congratulations on your recent wedding! We love special occasions and are honored to have been a part of your honeymoon experience. We’re delighted that you were able to enjoy an authentic New Orleans experience by joining us for delicious food and live music, and we’re sure that you made many cherished memories with us. We love welcoming our return visitors year after year, and we hope you’ll make us a part of your anniversary tradition! Best wishes, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold shower

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cold shower. Nothing else. Disgraceful. Also unhelpful staff after booking seats in the jazz bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ga

Small room

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Room and bathroom was very small. The bed was not comfortable at all and the pillows were so thin my wife and I could not sleep comfortably. We ended up leaving New Orleans a day earlier than planned because we had not slept more than a few hours during our entire stay. The hotel was super clean, staff was very nice, if not for the uncomfortable room it would have been a great vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Don, Our team appreciates guest feedback and we thank you for sharing your review. We pride ourselves on offering comfortable and welcoming accommodations and we’re sorry to learn that we fell short of impressing you on your recent visit. While many of our guests rave about our comfortable beds, we understand that this can depend on personal preference and we’re sorry that yours was not to your liking. We hope you’ll come see us again one day so that we may restore your trust in us. We’ll be happy to provide you with additional pillows for your added comfort, and we’re confident you’ll be pleasantly surprised! Best regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The Royal Sonesta is in a great location. The Jazz bar is top notch. Staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable, even when dealing with things out of their control.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We’re lucky to have amazing guests, and we thank you for being one of them! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed The Jazz Playhouse and the amazing hospitality of our team and we hope you’ll come see us all again very soon! Best regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans