Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2020
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

National Treasure

Posted Aug 18, 2019 on Hotels
The National Hotel is it unique experience. Frenchtown is Charming as well. This staff of the bar, restaurant and hotel where all very very friendly. It was a wonderful place for an overnight getaway. I'll definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2019
Coffee. How can a hotel at this price range not at least have a carafe of coffee in the morning? Our room was beautiful and clean but otherwise the experience was minimal. Also the toilet paper was hard as cardboard. Why go cheap on such a simple thing? The hotel offers free breakfast but there is none. Don’t do false advertising. And for goodness sake please serve coffee to your visitors. It’s just not that hard and would make a huge difference.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2019 on Hotels
We didn't make the normal check-in time, so they gave us a number to call once we got to the hotel (around 11pm). They were punctual, which was great because we were exhausted, and quickly got us checked into the room. The room itself was updated but with historic bones, with beautiful canopy bedframe and high ceilings. I will say, if you mind hearing cars, large trucks, or people around outside, this is not the hotel for you. It's in the center of Frenchtown, a very pretty and adorable town, and the walls are thin, so you hear everything. We knew this beforehand so we didn't mind, and had a wonderful night of rest before continuing our trip the next day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended cozy and comfortable atmosphere

Posted Feb 19, 2019 on Hotels
Everything is great from the staff to the in-house restaurant, to the rooms. I definitely enjoyed my stay. My sole issue was that it was a week day and at six in the morning all I heard were large truck exhausts and braking. Couldn't sleep, but NOT the hotels fault.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel in Frenchtown

Posted Jun 23, 2018 on Hotels
Beautiful old hotel, funky fun decor, informal reception. But our room had no closet or bureau, the wifi was off more often than on, and there was a lot of noise from hallways and the street. Overall a reasonable value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing room, minimal hospitality

Posted Apr 14, 2018 on Hotels
Called in the morning to explain difficult family circumstances surrounding visit, person who answered the phone was very unaccommodating despite difficult circumstances explained, gratefully he was welcoming when we arrived. When I did finally get to the room, it was disappointing - dark, bed area smaller than it had seemed on line (room was a suite), furniture worn, very large attractive double jacuzzi tub but bathroom not welcoming - barely any towels and the towels that were there were thin and small, poor quality, no bath mat, minimal toiletries, and cold - heat only in bedroom area. Tavern food was very good although service extremely slow, bar downstairs fun. Ordered truffle fries in the bar and they were soggy and drenched in cheese. Bottom line, I would stay here again but with adjusted expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice, FL

Pleasant Small Country Hotel, But.....

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Stayed here over Thanksgiving when visiting family. All in all this is a pleasant older country small hotel. The interior is fairly well kept and there is a nice restaurant and bar with good food. The exterior could use some maintenance care. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. It was cold when we stayed here and while the in-room heating unit keep the sleeping area warm the bathroom was located down a few stairs and the heat never really reached it so it was always cold. Generally the accomodations were typical small country old hotel charming and just fine, BUT.... The hotel has a rathskeller in the basement that seems to be THE place for locals to gather and have a good time drinking and listening to music. Loud music. Music that reverberates throughout the hotel until 1 am. At least it did when we stayed here. It may be the main money maker for the hotel with likely preference over hotel guests. Unless your normal bedtime is after 1 am or you can sleep through a train wreck, you probably will not rest well until after the rathskeller closes. If we were nighthawks or wanted to join the party maybe this would be fun. But we were tired travelers who expected to be able to sleep at a hotel. Also, the small parking lot fills with cars for the rathskeller so if you go out, when you return to the hotel you may not have a place to park.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
The stay would be better if on the days there was NO breakfast - coffee in the AM should be offered.