Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jul 7, 2016
a cricket started sounding inside of the room in the middle of the night, it made the experience much wilder, since we were heading to yosemite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
No breakfast available. Dog barking all night. Cover was very rough material and uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from avondale

I got what I paid for I guess

Posted Jun 8, 2016
The wifi was nonexistent. Couldn't call anywhere on the room phone. Not even next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Comfortable bed...Clean room

Posted May 12, 2016
I needed a place to stay while in Madera for 2 days and the room fit the bill. The bed was firm and comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. My friends stayed across the street and it cost double what I paid. It wasn't a vacation and so it was perfect. The motel is over 50 yrs old, so it reminded me of my childhood, with the origional Fernesi's cafe next door. Close to all shopping and right off freeway. All in all, it is great for the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake San Marcos, CA

Location & convenience

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Close to the freeway - easy to find. I wasn't expecting to get a refrigerator & a microwave (both mini, but very useable).. Does need new carpet, but it was well kept.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A., Ca

No excuse for broken faucet.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: It was clean, quiet, and close to my family's house whom I was in Madera, Ca to visit and attend my father memorial service.
Cons: The staff needs to make sure all faucets are installed and working properly with both hot and cold water. Don't rent out rooms that need repairs.
Location: Great!
After checking in I put my luggage in the room and left to go over to my family's house. When I returned late that night, I used the bathroom and attempted to wash my hands but there was no hot water at the sink. I noticed the handle on the faucet didn't work properly so I had to wash my hands and brush my teeth using the hot water at the bathtub. Upon checkout the next morning I told the desk clerk about the faucet not working properly and she said she would tell the man. It's very hard for me to believe they were not informed about the broken faucet by previous tenants, yet they assigned that room to me. I had completed the check-in review earlier before noticing the problem and gave the hotel a very good review but after this I would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last Minute Booking

Posted Feb 16, 2016
We were tired. Didn't have the energy to drive back home after a day at Badger Pass. Booked room (King Size Bed) and called it a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find something else

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Dirty place, hairs everywhere in bathroom, strange liquid splash on wall and never been removed. Breakfast resume to 2 kind of cereal serve with hot milk kept in glass jar. Was supposed to stay 2 weeks and cancelled my reservation the following morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: It was in the town we wanted to stop at.
Cons: It is old and run down, but was clean. The desk staff left much to be desired. They need to be trained to be friendly and welcoming to people.
We were there just for overnight. The desk clerk did not mention the availability of a restaurant (next door) mentioned in online recommendation. She also didn't tell us about the complimentary breakfast, or the times it would be available. She did or said nothing to make us feel welcome or to make us want to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How would you like being locked out every time .

Posted Dec 5, 2014
How would you like having reservations for three days , and every time you came back to your room , you are locked out and have to go to the office to get back into your room?