Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Relive a bygone era

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Just love the old style and open airiness of the grounds and pool area. The rooms have sliding glass doors to give a more homey feel to the place.
Cons: Things are a bit worn. Concentrated effort on sectons of rooms. It has a "bar & grill" and truly it needs make better use of that.
Location: Sequoia National park is just up the road Tons of farm fresh foods all at roadside stops Motorcycle rider the roads are AMAZING
The Lamplighter Inn is a CLASSIC motor hotel. Covered entry to help minimize the heat of the valley in summer. Big airy windows to let you see in side. If you ever see the old Rat Pack films or Rock Hudson Doris Day stuff this will make you feel as if you slid back 50yrs. Show up in a 61T-Bird and you are fall back in time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, CO

Just off the highway

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient.
Cons: not really
Location: National parks.
We were finishing a long day of driving having gone from 80 minutes from Yosemite Valley, through the valley and then Fresno before driving through Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. We wanted easy to locate and easy to resume our drive the next day. This motel fit the bill. There was a connector door to the room next door. We could easily hear there conversations, even though they did not sound like they were doing anything other than talking. A bit disconcerting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Dirty

Posted May 17, 2017
Dirty, dusty room with bugs in the bed, terrible air condition
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Cons: replace matress could feel the bed springs
it was very nice however the beds need to replaced in room 260 and 262 as well steyed in both
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, NY

Unbelievable value for the money.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Excellent value
This is by far the best value I have ever had in a "budget motel". Clean, up to date, thoughtful, way spacious. What a great surprise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Older hotel, but well maintained. Grounds nicely landscaped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The room was too cold, no heat, a space heater was provided, but, did not help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit of retro charm

Posted Apr 28, 2017
This is a local classic, with every family having stories of events here or relatives staying here every year for holidays. There is a tangible fondness for this hotel amongst people who are locals. Yet it is definitely showing it's age, with crumbling facilities and beds that need replacing. The Lampliter needs an infusion of cash for some repairs and upgrades to maintain its cherished reputation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, california

Nice hotel!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very clean and is very cheap, so is good if you're just going one or two nights,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reminds me of my Grandmas house.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Firstly the Hotel was in a good location for travelling on to visit the Sequoia National Park and the staff were extremely helpful. However the hotel rooms themselves (although clean) felt very tired and outdated. The pillows were lumpy, the tv v old and the air freshener literally made my eyes and nose water! It does have all you need in terms of clean towels, coffee maker, hairdryer etc, the pool area looked nice and we didn't eat there so cannot comment but we probably wouldn't go back.