Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Great staff, stayed one night, it was ok, the room was confortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Mitch, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Review of hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: The room rate was very good for the location and quality of the room. We did book the same day that we stayed (Monday), so that could have an effect.
Location: Casino next door, Disneyworld - 2649 miles away, Fresno Chaffee Zoo close by.
Nice hotel. The room was clean with plenty of towels and comfortable pillows. They have 1 restaurant that is open breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have a bar, but on the Monday night I stayed there, it closed at 11. Since it was after 11 when I wanted a drink, the staff at the front desk directed me to the casino next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback from your stay with us at the Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center. We use this to further improve and it is greatly appreciated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemet, CA

OK Hotel With Great Staff

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The staff, lobby and restaurant.
Cons: See comments above.
Location: There was a casino next door but that was a bit seedy.
The hotel was less than I expected. The location was a bit seedy although I see neighborhood improvements are underway. The staff was very friendly and attentive. My room was OK but the bathroom was dimly lit...very hard to shave and otherwise see what one was doing. The bathroom sink drained poorly. The was no refrigerator in the room and this should have been included for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center. We apologize for any misinformation and ask that you keep in mind for your next stay that refrigerator and microwaves are available by request from the front desk. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
by rollie from GSW Land

Basic needs met

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
One night only, basic sleepover. Room had no fridge or microwave so late night snacking or even cold drinks were unavailable. For the price, not ok w/o those amenities. The location isn't great but it was convenient to where we needed to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Shelia, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We do have vending machines and offer room service that can provide refreshing cold drinks. We also offer refrigerators and microwaves upon request. Should you return to Fresno, we hope that you give us another chance to show you our "Yes I Can!" culture.
2 out of 5
by Matt

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for downtown

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
nice one night stay, close to stadium
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We do apologize if there were any issues that occurred during your recent stay. As we do not have much to go on from the lack of comments we do hope that we can impress you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Eran from LA

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Even the balcony couldn't open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We also apologize for the balcony door was not able to be open. We hope you will get the chance to stay again so that we can exceed your expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lodi

Nightmare stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Paid extra for business class which I did not get as they were having a "herbalife"conference there and all the rooms were taken. Also my room was supposed to come with free breakfast for two which they didn't give me the coupons for I had to ask for after I got to breakfast already (probably since they didn't see me in a business class room). One night a wedding was going on in the room the floor below and music loud til 1 am it was terrible. Wouldn't stay there again. Room was old and tired and outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Shelia T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the experiences you had while staying with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not get the business class room you paid for, nor the breakfast coupons at check in. I will make sure that our front desk staff is made aware of this issue so that it does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient. The hotel shuttled me to and from a job interview. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Shelia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on your most recent stay. We are happy to have provided you shuttle services to and from your job interview. Good Luck and we look forward to your next stay!