Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to Ostbahnhof station

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Staff only, wouldn't stay there again.
Cons: New mattress
Staff lovely and very helpful. Very noisy at night inside hostel. The bed extremely uncomfortable too soft with springs sticking into you no matter which was you laid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from england

Really quirky hotel, great value but noisy

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Character, style, friendly staff
Cons: It was a bit noisy
Location: Great location, easy walk to S Bahn also regular buses. Just 2 stops from Alexanderplatz which was the capital of East Berlin
This is a unique experience - you are literally going back in time to the 1960s in East Germany. The decoration, furniture and architecture are typical of the time, but this also means the is little in the way of sound insulation. I absolutely loved it. And it is great value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aurora, co

Affordable option, very close to train station

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The area around the hotel itself isn't particularly interesting, but it's close to the Ostbahnhoff and the public transportation is pretty quick. Good if you're looking for a cost effective option, but if you're priority is being comfortable (room was a little hot with tiny shower) or being in a more glamorous area you probably want to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Annie from California

Great for the price, close to train station

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here in a private room for a night. The staff was friendly even though I checked in a bit after hours. The walls are look on the thin side and you can hear others talking, but they were still respectful and it wasn't too bad. The location is really close to Ostbanhof train station. There's a shop and some restaurants and bakeries nearby. It's pretty close to the East Side Gallery and the Wall Museum. My only concern was that the entrance is in the back down a dark path. Be careful if you're there at night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017
Dear Annie, thanks for this recommendation! Because it really was a bit too dark, we changed our light systems outside a few days ago. So for the next time you and nobody else need to be afraid! We are looking forward to welcome you again! Best Regards, Your OSTEL / Tine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Now? Split, Croatia. At home? Smiths Gully,Vic. AU

Decor and location

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Everything - especially the bath. Only thing I would say is that in summer they should make available a frdge for guests items that must be cool.
Cons: No Tv - but heye - in the internet age is that really a problem?
Location: As above.
We had no idea of the decor - excellent and very humerous. Within 2 minutes waht is B Ostbahnhof, a supermarket, fantastic 24 hour doner joint, alcohol, and on the weekend there is an awesome trash and treasure market. Also there is a bakerie and kafee and you have everything. Staff very helpfull with 3am taxi - we loved it !!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Ostel / Tine, Hotel Management
Thanks for you feedback. Have a good time! Your OSTEL :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only for short stay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We had problems with noise, the rooms don't have enough isolation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Close to train station

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Loved how close I was to The Sbahn and a lovely Wee bakery that did amazing Getman breakfasts. The staff where lovely. And spoke English. Luckily for me. Rooms a bit outs Dated and I had to carry my suitcase up 12 flights of stairs but it wasn't that taxing. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Misleading photos, misleading title. It's a hostel not a hotel but it's described as a hotel. It was fine but a bit in the ropey side. OK in a pinch but don't get your hopes up
5 out of 5
by Gerd from Vancouver, Canada

Good value

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Only 2 day stay
2 out of 5
by Matthew from London

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed - tiny room for 2 people, no facilities, no lift to the 5th floor, no wifi. Billed as a GDR themed hotel but there is actually very little of this type of decoration, not enough to make the hotel interesting. It feels like there was a very very poor hotel here and they went for the GDR theme to try to cover it - small cheap improvements would make a big difference, get a stronger WIFI router and put a kettle/tee/coffee in the rooms! For 70 euros a night I expected a lot better.