Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

stallion show 2017 Hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: shopping, brewery, restaurants, etc
Love this hotel. Have stayed here for the last 2 years. Great hotel with amminities, and close to everything downtown. Great friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

3 Day stay - August 2016

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: A few minutes walk from anything
We booked this hotel via Expedia due its location which is directly next to the central train station in Leeuwarden. It takes you a few minutes walk to the center square. The staff is very professional and friendly. We arrived 3 hours in advance and we were given the room key directly. Our room itself, located on the 2nd floor, was clean and very decent. You have a safe included, a mini bar ($) and free Wi-Fi. We tried the breakfast which costs 15 euro/p.p. and had a good selection offered. Note that you can sit anywhere and there is no table service for coffee/tea. Overall: highly recommended for location and great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SOUTH CAROLINA

MY STAY IN LEEUWARDEN, NL .

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: convenience
Great hotel. We were there to attend the Friesian Stallion Show. The hotel was very convenient to the location of the show. Train station across the street was also available. The hotel has its own and bar and restaurant which was very nice. There is also restaurants around the hotel within walking distrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: I think the best thing about this hotel was the location.
Location: Walking distance to many shops, museums, nightclubs, restaurants, bank ATM, train station. So easy.
This hotel was clean and the staff was terrific. They were very helpful and went out of their way to provide great service. The restaurant was perfect, serving delicious dinners and a wonderful breakfast with lots of choices. The bar is a nice place to get a night-cap and the large lobby had many comfortable and private seating areas to enjoy drinks, coffee and conversation. The parking garage was extremely easy and accessible. I would highly recommend Hampshire Hotel-Oranje Leeuwarden to anyone who is looking for a perfect location. Walking distance to many shops, restaurants, nightclubs, museums and transportation. I couldn't have asked for a better place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient quiet hotel near the train station

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Stayed only one night but the staff were helpful. We enjoyed walking around the town and enjoyed New Year's sweets and various shops. There was nice bathtub and plenty of hot water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Orange Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: A little pricey relative to others.
Location: Nothing to do In Leeuwarden really. Walk around, watch boats.
Closer to train, but more expensive and not a nice as the WTC Hotel nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Modern and convenient hotel by the train station

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Our group of 6 had a 2-night stay while on a visit to the Netherlands. This hotel is conveniently located by the train station and near the center city. The restaurant Van Buren is very nice, with an excellent set of choices and specials. We liked the lounge/bar area and saw others in business attire used it also for gatherings. My only complaints were 1) the wake-up call system (didn't call one morning and then came the next morning well before we wanted to get up), and staff person just dismissed my complaint with, well, the system doesn't seem to be working; and 2) the parking garage system (the check-in didn't mention that you need a token to get out of the garage, so we had to go back up to reception to get it.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sl from NI

ornaje leeuwarden

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: accessibility to train station
Cons: swipe card system to allow access after 11.00pm instead of standing ringing a bell!! - portions served in hotel for evening meal are ridiculously tiny
Location: nice quiet town - was visting daughter who is studying at uni there - not somewhere that you would plan to stay to visit attractions
pleasant stay - only downside is hotel doors close at approx 11.00pm at night which you are not made aware of, had to wait almost 15 mins before being let in one evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Floor Jan, Hotel Management
Dear SL, Thank you for your feedback! We will use your feedback for our improvements. We hope to welcome you in the future again! With kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Location-and helpful staff.
Cons: Restaurant prices.
Location: Train station right across the street-city center a block away.
I was In town to visit my son who was doing a study abroad. Hotel is right across from the train station-and a few blocks from the town square. An old hotel but rooms are clean and updated. Friendly staff and very helpful. Nice restaurant but pricey-bar drinks seemed reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is very nice to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel! We will take your comment about the bar drinks at heart and will take them with us in our meetings. We hope toe welcome you again in our hotel! With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catalin from Bucharest

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013