Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Night at Uplands

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant dinning room,and a good breakfast
Cons: The fixed shower in our room needed an adjustable shower head as at present when you turn on the water it gets onto the floor.
Location: Shops and beach not too far to walk,But beware the Pavements in the whole area are very dangerous in places with rocking slabs specially near trees.
Ammenities were basic but value for money shops station and beach not far.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Good location. Easy parking.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Good location and easy parking. Could come and go as pleased. Friendly staff member. Plenty of food but no bacon or pork !!
Cons: Windows and ledges need a really good clean...not a pleasing look from outside. Inside window ledges and surrounds need cleaning.
Location: Close to high street and sea front
Only saw one staff member who was very polite,helpful and hospitable. Wasn't happy about their being no bacon or pork sausage on breakfast menu obviously due to their religious beliefs which shouldn't be passed on to us. However there's was a good selection for breakfast and the gentleman serving was polite. Bed was very comfortable. Room clean...could be slight improvements. Quite a lot of noise from family living there late at night and early morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HERFORDSHIRE

Unable to stay due to medical emergency

Posted Sep 5, 2016
AFTER BOOKING IN I HAD A MEDICAL EMERGENCY AND HAD TO LEAVE THE OWNER WAS VERY HEPFUL TO ME. I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Terrible place dirty old furniture would not recommend it to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from UK

Two Day Visit to Clacton Air Show, 2016

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable bed, Good b/f. menu and well cooked
Cons: This B&B is not suitable for w/chair users or disabled guests who are unable to climb x12 stairs to 1st. floor. No g/f. rooms available.
Location: Frinton has a quiet seafront and beach and well laid out gardens. No amusements or theme parks. Some might say 'close to heaven' - others, boring.
This B&B is very convenient for Clacton, Walton & Frinton and for walking on The Naze. In a quiet residential area with private and on-street pkg. A variety of shops within ten mins. walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of England

good value for money

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Handy for everything - shops, beach, railway station
small problem on arrival. No-one at home, but there was a speedy response to a mobile number posted on outside door and the host arrived soon afterwards. Accommodation was good and given a good choice for breakfast. No problem with parking. Excellent all round.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but noisy

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We stayed for two nights at the Uplands Guest House, in single rooms, 4 and 5. Unfortunately these rooms are above the living quarters of the family (which included young children), who did not appear to go to bed before 2.50am on the first night, and some time after midnight on the second. The shower in room 5 was nice and hot, but unfortunately there was a bad odour coming from the drainage hole. The breakfasts were large in portion size, but disappointing in quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, tired and cramped facilities in room.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The manager was friendly, we slept well and the breakfast was OK (but not the smoked salmon which wasn't smoked salmon but big flakes, mixed into the scrambled egg). The common parts are fine and the location is good, with easy parking. But the tea/coffee in the room was in a rusty old box, the decor is tired and paint chipped off in various places, the shower cubicle too small to comfortably wash oneself without touching the sides, the shower too high (fixed) and sparse to avoid getting your hair wet or to wash off soap properly all over. The wiring is apparently very old, and our second night one side of our room including the extension for charging devices, the TV and the wall sockets stopped working. Apparently there is a reset button as this often happens. It feels as though the premises/facilities need a lot of tender loving care/investment, and the staff can only do their best in a sinking ship. There are other B&Bs nearby that I will be researching to book into next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambrideshire

Personal choice restricted

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Easy to walk to the beach, shops and cafes.
Cons: The breakfast
Location: Lovely little town, beautiful beach
We were amazed to find that bacon was not on the menu because of the companies religious beliefs while advertising a full English breakfast. Also beef sausages are not what you want for breakfast. I am not racist aand I believe everyone has a right to follow their own choices but this was restricting ours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading.

Nice people in a good location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean....towels changed on request.
Cons: Breakfast was good but limited.
Location: Frinton is like going back in time....nice place
Have stayed here before.....room very clean......easy off street parking....breakfast freshly cooked. This is a good value guest house run by a nice man.