Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from frisco, tx

Disappointing stay

Posted Jan 22, 2018
I thought with a name like Wyndham it was going to be a wonderful hotel. Instead, I was left feeling like I stayed at a LaQuinta or worse. The area is pretty new, and I expected the same of the hotel. However, a lot of the room felt old and definitely worn. The mattress was less than comfy compared to a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn. The lampshades were cracked. Light bulbs were out in the bathroom. There were only 3 towels in the bathroom which would be fine for a single person but not a family of even 2. There was week old yogurt in my ice bucket. The thermostat had to be wiggled in order for the buttons to work. And the breakfast - after a 4 day stay we had the same breakfast for 3 days and back to back same food on the weekend. Even my son asked if this was yesterday's leftovers. I noticed the yogurt at breakfast had all expired and brought this to the front desk's attention. The channel selection was bad. I expected some sort of cartoon/family channel for my kids under the age of 8, but there was only the morning PBS shows. No Nick, no Disney Jr. I stayed here for the location in a nice city and the cost, but I feel I could have gotten a better experience somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Tub faucet was lose. Breakfast was not good at all. Fitness room was terrible. Treadmill broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to where we wanted to stay.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: Bring douvet up higher. Had to slide down in bed to keep neck warm.
Location: Near Stonebriar Mall
It was cold but room warmed up quickly. Breakfast good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in North Dallas.

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Room size, comfort, amenities, relaxing décor and most of all we like that it was exceptionally clean.
Cons: The night-time desk clerk failed to activate the wakeup call request for the next morning. Day clerk not helpful with restaurant location info.
The Wingate was in what seemed like an unusual area, yet it turned out to be an ideal location for us. Located on Hwy. 121 alongside the Sam Rayburn toll way, it was perfectly situated between North Dallas and Denton/McKinney, Texas. A fuel station is across the street and many restaurant selections nearby as well as shopping. The room was quite large, wheelchair accessible and exceptionally clean. The beds were comfortable and not so high off the floor as to require a step stool for which we were thankful. The décor was pleasant and relaxing with typical Texas ranch style artwork in neutral colors. The restroom was roomy with plenty of bath and hand towels and washcloths. All required amenities were in the room; microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker...even decaf and well as regular coffee and tea packets. We enjoyed our stay there very much. A breakfast was available every morning. The only concern we had was that a request for a 7:00 am wakeup call was not heeded. Though the desk personnel said it was taken care of, it wasn't. In spite of the mistake, we highly recommend booking this hotel. You would be glad you did.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

HOTEL OKAY

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: IT WAS OKAY, THE COST BECAME VERY HIGH SINCE I HAD TO PAY FOR TWO NIGHTS BUT ONLY STAYED ONE NIGHT.
I HAD CANX MY SECOND NIGHT RESERVATION WELL AHEAD OF THE CANCELATION TIME REQUIRED FOR A FULL REFUND, WHEN I ARRIVED, THE HOTEL SAID IT WAS ALREADY PAID FOR THRU EXPEDIA AND THEY COULD NOT CHANGE NOR GIVE ME A REFUND. THE WORD FROM THE HOTEL WAS I NEEDED TO GO THRU EXPIEDIA. I SPENT THE NEXT APPROX 3 HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH EXPEDIA, WITH NO AVAIL. NO ONE WOULD HONOR MY CANX AND PROVIDE ANY REFUND FOR THE SECOND NIGHT.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East York

The Walls are Paper Thin

Posted Jan 5, 2018
I changed rooms once due to an arguing couple and a baby screaming only to move next door to a guy playing rap at 9 am. You can here a normal conversation through the walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great to stay

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Over all experience is great, facility was great and clean. The only thing is upon our arrival no complimentary water in room. Rest is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor, Florida

Great Location and value !

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Stay here regularly when we visit family. Nice clean rooms, and great location for Frisco Allen and North Plano area. GREAT STAFF !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
The desk clerk was rude while we were trying to check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville, TX

Rented for a week

Posted Dec 14, 2017
My wife had surgery and we needed a place to stay for a week. This hotel was great. The location was not far from restaurants and shopping. They had breakfast every morning. The traffic in the are is not too bad.