Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

located in fascinating medieval town

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Its location, the baskets of flowers on the outside, the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: a bit more thorough on the cleaning
Location: We were there on the first sunday in the month when the whole town becomes an outdoor market with every kind of stall you can think of.
We were going to Longleat for two days and this was the perfect place to stay as it was only a few miles away. The food was good, the staff excellent. In one of the rooms we had there were pubic hairs under the loo seat that were off putting but otherwise the cleanliness was good with even the picture rail dusted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford Yorkshire

Nice hotel in town centre

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: The convenience of the location, claenliness of rooms and the excellent staff..
Cons: Our room was very warm, even though we didn't use the radiators, no one could explain why.
Location: Where to start, so many things to see and do in Frome itself and convenient for visit to Bath, Glastonbury, Longleat and many other attractions.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and the drinks selection, coffee, teas, hot chocolate and bottled water (as well as biscuits!) were replaced as we used them. The dining room where we ate breakfast was comfortable and the service was excellent. The public bar is welcoming, again staff were excellent and there is a good range of beers and pub food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Friendly comfortable hotel in great location.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Homely, friendly, great food & comfortable rooms.
Location: in the town centre so great for browsing the shops. Only 3 or 4 miles from Lomgleat Safari Park, ideal for our visit there.
Easy to find, parking available & disabled access good, comfortable rooms & a lovely atmosphere. Very nice food & good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Ticked all the boxes for us

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Good service, good location, good good
Cons: The stairs were a bit of a problem, but that is more of a problem with us rather than this 'old' building
Location: Good for Longleat
A good overnight stay - very convenient for Longleat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Room did not meet expectation. Electrical Hazards

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Courtesy of porter/waiter.
Cons: see above
The room was described at 'double premium ensuite' and was well below reasonable expectation. It was located on the third floor (in a maize of rooms with no lift) and very small). There were no places for personal toiletries in the en-suite except on the floor. Two 13A sockets were hanging off the wall - a hazard. The room had no phone or otherwise access to any room service. The facility I found to be unsatisfactory. I rejected a £20 discount andI refused to make a payment; leaving the matter in dispute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hotel in Town Centre

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Hotel in town centre, parking was fine, when you found the car park and managed to negotiate into it. Room clean and had everything you need. Food at Breakfast was fine, but a bit limited cooked breakfast okay but if you didn't want an item they did not replace it with something else. On the whole it was good place to stay, and I would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Character filled hotel, ideal for Longleat

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Carpark, but I’m not sure what else could be done.
Location: Centrally situated in Frome and easy to explore. Longleat very close Street and Glastonbury easily accessible
Our welcome was excellent and throughout our stay the staff couldn’t do enough for us. Our ensuite room was carefully renovated and very clean and comfortable, but be prepared for stairs! Food was delicious, we ate breakfast and two evening meals there. It was lively on Friday evenings in the sports bar but pleasant enough in the adjacent restaurant area. My only negative was the carpark, when you find it you would not want to try and get a large car in it, but then again it was free and in the town centre!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterlooville

Great staff, hotel needs work.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds and duvets. Lovely breakfast. Nice relaxed feel to it.
Cons: Really need to investigate what is going on with the flies!!!! Very off putting.
Location: The town is lovely with lots of interesting independent little shops. Well worth a walk around. Very near to Longleat.
Arrived after a long day out, friendly welcome by staff. Shown to our rooms. The one I was given hadn't been made up and clearly had a problem with lots of tinly little flies in and around the bathroom. This was very clearly rectified and I was shown to a charming room, nicely decorated and finished and spotlessly clean. We then went down into the bar for some food. Having made our choice we then waited quite a long time before being told they had run out of one of the things we ordered. Fair enough, we then waited again. After nearly 40 minutes our food arrived, a cheese platter and a chocolate brownie! We then had to ask for butter, then plates. During this time we noticed more of the little flies buzzing round. The food was nicely presented and although only cheese and crackers was good quality and plentiful. The flies continued! Resulting in several actually deciding to share my food. This was too much for me and we asked to speak to someone. They did very kindly take the price of the food off our bill and apologized. Beds were comfortable and the towels were lovely with very nice tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom. Breakfast was good. Good quality food, freshly cooked with a range of juices and cereals to start. But! More of those pesky flies! Generally a nice little hotel with great potential. Needs to investigate where those flies come from and why!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colman

Fantastic Hotel close to lots of facilities.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Stayed here overnight as we were going to a concert at The Cheese and Grain. Fantastic Hotel, amazing helpful staff, and room spotless with lots of tea and coffee making facilities. We had the room with 4 poster bed, lovely comfy bed, only thing I would say and its no fault of Hotel is to take ear plugs as Hotel is on main high street of Frome. And traffic is rather noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcester uk.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Excellent, very comfortable room. Nice setting along wi a great bar.