Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staines upon thames

Stayed in cottage

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Clean bedding and towels and cottage contemporary and warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Shame the shower was broken but everything else about the hotel was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were helpful and friendly. Lovely food. Clean rooms (although could be a bit chilly at times) .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pleasant location, helpful staff, comfortable room with high standard of cleanliness and excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

Always a great stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
This is the fifth or sixth time for me at The George. Rooms are comfortable. The bed was proclaimed the best he'd ever slept in by my travel companion. Food is excellent, and the staff couldn't be better. I will be back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pub in pretty village

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The George is a comfortable stay. We only had breakfast . Some of the decor looked tired but overall a pleasant pub and convenient for visiting relatives
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Convenient hotel with a quiet room.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Quiet room, comfortable bed, hot shower.
Cons: Decoration in the common areas, quality and choice of food, staff presence and attention.
Comfortable room, clean, but rather "tired". Nice and quiet, beds comfortable and water hot. Corridors and stairs to the rooms was shabby, the carpet very stained and worn. The breakfast room was ok, but only one member of staff serving and on the first morning there was a shooting party of 12 breakfasting at the same time. Fewer of us on the second morning but if you wanted a continental breakfast you were out of luck as the fruit on display consisted of one banana and there was no yoghurt or croissants. It could have been so much better but there didn't seem to sufficient staff to cater for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from torquay

Weekend wedding

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: All of it
Cons: Needed two light bulbs in room
Location: Nunnery castle amazing!
Cosy , friendly and steeped in history. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast with extra family they couldn't have been more helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely area, but bed in room broke underneath so awful night sleep, not clear our room's toilet wasnt part of the room but across the hall, two young girls stood at bar constantly having to be told what to do whilst having our meal, no beans given to my other half at breakfast and my beans cold. Although it was clean and in a good surrounding and easy for us, this was ruined by everything above.
3 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Booked into the castle suite for the same price as a double. Very pleasant room in a lovely village. The attached pub served really nice food at a great price. Very cosy hotel in a quiet secluded area, and with ample parking. The only issue i had with my trip was the Wifi. Had no signal in my room, and as a work trip I was fairly dissapointed. Spoke to reception twice about the issue with no resolution. Also, the service staff left a bag full of restocking items in my room which i had to hand back to reception.