Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Richard from About 700m from the metro station but handy bus no. 3 stops much closer and goes from Moskovskaya metro (where airport bus drops you off) to city centre along Nevskiy Prospekt.

City Hotel Comfitel

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Decent free breakfast. Good Wifi. Compulsory registration fee was 250 rubles. Fairly small room and a lot of traffic noise from the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Way out from the center of the city
2 out of 5
by Taylise from Brazil

Terrible services

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
Very poor breakfast, and dirty room of it! The asian girl at the reception didn't have a clue of what she was doing! They took ages to fix our minibar and the room was also very dusty. 3 blocks away from the underground station, pretty far from the city center walking! Would choose another place next time!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Taylise! We are very sorry that you have left a bad impression about our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience. We considered our weaknesses and try to get better. With best wishes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels
You have to register where you stay in Russia. It is the hotels responsibility to complete the paperwork. After three days of promises from the staff that I would receive the proper paperwork. They failed to do it! After being held up on my departure I was told by the manager it would be emailed to me. I have not received the email. I have since stayed in two other hotels, Tver and Moscow. Both hotels have completed the correct paperwork.. My recommendation is 'DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL, IT'S NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE'....
4 out of 5
by Daniel from London

decent hotel

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels
Main reason i stayed here was the decent price for stay. I was in room 301, the room was very big and the bed was comfortable, however as a previous review has mentioned, the room is right next to the boiler room, which does make an annoying screech every time someone on the same floor uses the water. There is no lift as it is an old building but that was not really a problem. the location of the hotel is good, about 10 min walk to the metro, and if you are in the city for the clubs, Metro Club is only 5 mins away. the only down side for me was, to get into the hotel you need to buzz reception to let you in, on some occasions i needed wait quite a while to get in. On the whole though, i had really pleasant stay and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Robert from Toronto, ON, Canada

A Fine Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2013
Cons: No lift.
Location: Great location.
If you're Beyoncé, this is not the hotel for you. If you're on a budget, then this is perfect. There's a shower and free internet. There is also a café. I found it perfectly adequate for my needs. The subway is close. However, if you like luxury then this would not be it.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good value in St. P

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel was better than I expected. Staff was helpful, with decent English. Room was hice. Free wi-fi worked fine. Breakfast was decent--nothing special. Location was convenient--on a busy street about 25 min walk from Nevsky Prospeckt. My only complaint was no elevator (I was on 5th floor). Good value for the money.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Emma from Nottingham, UK

Great room, good price, maybe not ideal location

Posted Apr 22, 2012
Pros: Room was large, clean, had everything you need and really comfortable beds. Great shower and hairdryer was a plus. Good reception staff
Cons: The cafe bar. Single mother with 11 year old son and didn't feel at ease in there and very smoky for me as barman was always smoking. Put me off
Location: About 25-30 minute walk from where it meets Nevsky Prospekt, then another walk to sights. Need to make use of Metro. Nothing around hotel of interest
Positives - The room was warm, comfortable, very clean and had really comfortable beds and a great shower. Maid service was very good. The reception staff spoke english well, were very friendly and very helpful. The room we had was a really good size and very quiet. We slept brilliantly all 5 nights! Would recommend for those on a budget as we were. Potential negatives - Cafe/bar/restaurant was 'adequate'. Didn't find the server friendly or the room inviting for myself with a child. We chose not to eat there apart from breakfast as a personal choice. However, locals did come in to eat and businessmen in the evening staying. Just did not feel comfortable for us. Breakfast was mostly continental and was ok. Hotel had no lift and we were on 3rd floor which was not a problem for us as we didn't mind it but could be a problem for others as there is no one or an offer to help with carrying suitcases up the stairs. Location - this was our main down side as it was a little way off Nevsky. However, for the price we paid and the fact the room was great we were again ok with it. There is a metro station a short walk away and the metro is easy to navigate and very good so accessing tourist areas is not a problem. Also at the top of Ligovsky is a very modern shopping centre which has many english shops and excellent restaurants and coffee shops. There is also a McDonalds by the Metro! Used Express to Russia for hotel/airport transfers and they were brilliant.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Rita from UK

The comfitel

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Extra ordinarily thin mattress. Single duvet on double bed. Stinky drains. Staff were lovely. Reasonably well placed and good value for money
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

will not go back

Posted Sep 25, 2011
there were flys and mosquitos everywhere, in room buzzing around our heads we were on the fifth floor no elevators breakfast was okay, they did have yogurt and bread to toast the beds were old and uncomfortable the carpet was old and dirty there was tape along windows to capture all the flys the staff was nice and friendly 5 bus stops to the main street but the area of the hotel at night is a little uncomfortable this is okay if u r not used to higher standard accomodations, I am very flexible but I would pay the extra money and stay elsewhere