Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel in a quite big resort

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Nice bungalow accommodation and very nice pools
Cons: The dining room was at times overcrowded
Location: Very close to Puerto del Rosario, ideally placed to explore the island. Short drive from the airport
The bungalow was very nice and clean, close to the beach and a short drive away from the airport. Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant at all times. The facilities are very good, with three swimming pools, several green areas and a beach just in front of the hotel. Very good for kids as well Only negative I would say was the fact it is a very big resort, so can feel at times quite crowded, like for example in the dining room. Overall I would definitely recommend for a family holiday
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Alirio Pérez/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Enzo, We are delighted to hear so good reviews from our guests and we are happy to see that we have filled our standards and that we have made your holidays. In addition, we take into account your comment about the buffet and we keep improving this area. I hope to see you and your family back soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and staff. Great experience.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Fantastic for kids. Great facilities and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Alirio Pérez/General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Harry, First of all, thank you so much for sharing your pictures with us. In addition, it is also a great pleasure to know that you appreciate so much our service and facilities. Best regards to you and your family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Nice hotel, would've been better if beach was open

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Hotel was like a village with lovely pools, restaurants and other shops. Only part of the beach was open which was a real shame. Weather was good at times but overcast at others. Could be an amazing destination when sun is shining and beach fully open
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Barceló Castillo Beach Resort , Hotel Management
Dear Client, First of all, we are very delighted that you choose our hotel for your holidays and taking your valuable time to write us your stay. Opinions as yours make us proud and motivate us to keeping improving day by day services and facilities we offer in our hotel. We hope to receive you many more times at our resort and make your stay as comfortable and nice possible. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

beautiful place in a nice location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: charging for towels and safe in the room
Location: nice restaurants and amenities
although beach is under construction its a beautiful place to stay. Great hotel and we have been upgraded to double bed studio. We recommend the hotel to anyone. Breakfast was excellent and amenities great. we found it very strange that we had to pay for the beach towels though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Barceló Castillo Beach Resort****, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Maria, Dear Client, First of all, we are very delighted that you choose our hotel for your holidays and taking your valuable time to write us your stay. Opinions as yours make us proud and motivate us to keeping improving day by day services and facilities we offer in our hotel. Regarding the deposit for the towel and the safety box, the value that we receive from the clients is only a deposit, that we return when the client return the towel or the key for the safety box, and the safe has a 3€ cost per day. We hope to receive you many more times at our resort and make your stay as comfortable and nice possible. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place to relax

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: it meant i didnt have to stay with my mother in law.
Cons: i would have prefered a room with a balcony in the sun and a sea view.
Location: onthe peninsula. creazy golf, a short walk to town , good resteraunts at a reasonable price.
there ws loads on hand if you wanted everything but the place was quiet enough to do nothing too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the review you shared following your recent visit and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations especially regarding the location of the resort. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice if you're looking for Butlins-by-the-sea

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Very expensive all-inclusive holiday that promised far more in the advertising than it could ever deliver. It's the Spanish version of Butlins. Too big a hotel, too many people, catering was canteen like and basic and room cleanliness was questionable. Very disappointed and would not recommend at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, First of all we would like to thank your for choosing Barceló Castillo Beach Resort for your last holidays and for taking the time to share your experience. Although we really lament reading that we didn't match your expectations. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. We are also sorry to read your comments on the dining experience, be sure that your comments will be passed to the involved department. We thank you again for your time and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and better serve you in the future. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful time at Barcelo

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We stayed at in a superior bungalow with views over the sea-what a way to wake up each morning. The accommodation was excellent, being cleaned and fresh towels each day it was a pleasure coming back to the room. The heated pool was great for my kids as it was not salted;they went each day and loved it. The local restaurants and harbour was a lovely place to spend time relaxing too-so a thumbs up from all the family
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Alirio Pérez General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Castillo Beach Resort and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Expedia’s readers. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the room we allocated you in to the facilities and the restaurants. Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for Barceló we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is basic for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral UK

Good four star facility.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: The WiFI
Location: lots to do in Caleta, and in the hotel facilities
Plenty to do at this location. beach five minutes away. Hotel is clean and tidy, and the staff are very helpful. Good parking nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Alirio Pérez General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent to share this review and for choosing Barceló Castillo Beach Resort for your last holidays. It is really grateful to read your comments about our hotel, especially about the cleanliness of our installations and about our staff. All team members work hard to make your stay unforgettable and we are happy to read that we were able to match your expectations. We would also like to inform you that you started to offer the wifi in all the rooms of the resort. Again, we thank you for this lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again in our resort. Yours sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach is a building site

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The beach is still a building site and looks likely to remain so for some time yet. The enormous pile of dredged sand caused very unpleasant sandstorms which irritated your eyes. No access to the sea from the hotel, only one small heated pool; full of children this week and the others freezing, meant swimming not really an option. We were delayed and arrived late, nobody showed us to our room which was a long way up hill on uneven surfaces, poor signage in the dark meant we had trouble finding our room which when we did was in need of redecoration and repair. We shared the room with 4 large cockroaches during our stay! Luckily we ate out and didn't use the self-catering facilities. The room key didn't open the gate and sometimes the room itself meaning a long walk round to get in at night and to reset the card when needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Alirio Pérez General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took from your day to share this review with the community. Although we do understand that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us and we would like to apologise for this. We are sorry that you didn't feel attented enough while giving you the room and we agree with you that you shouldn't have carried your luggage. Unfortunately the beach works are a decision of the city hall and we cannot intervene on it. We also lament reading that you found cockroaches in your room, we have a pesticide plan but unfortunately, given the climatology and the location of Fuerteventura, sometimes their presence are unavoidable. Again we thank you for these constructive comments and we hope to be able to better serve you in the future if you give us another opportunity. Yous sincerely, Alirio Pérez, Director - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tavistock, Devon

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Our accommodation was in a good position and had everything we needed
Cons: We were very happy with every aspect of our stay, the only minor gripe would be the information re Island Markets, which needs reviewing.
Location: It is in a great position relative to the airport etc.
Lovely location in excellent condition with good food and great facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Barceló Castillo Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Seve, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Castillo Beach Resort and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are thrilled that we could made your vacation special and that you find your accommodation comfortable and with everything you needed, this rooms are thinked to please your clients, so we are happy to do it. Thank you once again for note the good position of our hotel, we are glad that it was a positive fact for you. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, Alirio Pérez - General Manager