Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We had a lovely time at the Jandia Mar. Everything about it we loved! Yes it's on a steep hill, but we knew this before going, being reasonably fit, it's manageable. The only moan I'd have is that the beds aren't that comfy, but after a few G&T's they're fine! The food is great, always something for everyone. The pool areas are immaculate, as are the reception areas. A couple of the waiters in restaurant aren't too happy about their work but didn't affect us too much. There is entertainment every evening, but we never watched it, not really our cup of tea so we sat outside upstairs on a lovely terraced area. As for the beach, it's beautiful (apart from the nudists!) one of the best beaches we've been to. Overall we loved it here, will hopefully be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Jules, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Jandia Mar; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We are really sorry that you have found our beds not so much comfortable, lthough your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally. We are glad that you have appreciated our location and we would like to inform you that we also offer a free shuttle bus to go to the beach and return to the hotel for all our guests. At Occidental we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards from Jandia, Giulia Virtú Guest Experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Posted Jan 24, 2017
The best animation. Best food. Best people. I come back with my family 100%. Thank you for best holiday
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rafal, We appreciate that you shared your opinion on Expedia and that you consider your holiday in our hotel Occidental Jandía Mar as the best one. We are definitely looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon. Kind regards from Jandía Zsofia Berta Guest Experience Manager
1 out of 5
by Isla

Very poor customer experience.....don't bother!

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was in a particularly noisy location above the bar area. The hotel did very little to help with the noise and refused to move us room. This meant we didn't sleep at all as they were constantly moving furniture. The guest experience manager was rude and clearly not interested or authorised to do anything. This attitude was then mirrored by the Assistant Manager. This hotel is clearly used to customers complaints as they are absolutely immune. They actually told us that any issues had tobe taken up with Hotels.com. Passing the buck! The food in the hotel was poor. There was a lack of variety and it was lukewarm at best. There were not enough seats in the bar area and the bar areas were understaffed which meant queuing regularly for drinks. On 3 occasions we had no hot water which poses a health risk. I would also question why a 4 star hotel charges guests to enter their Spa. This hotel advertises an indoor pool but you are charged extra to use it. All in all, save your money and sanity and stay somewhere else!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice room horrible food

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Room is excelent, big and clean. The pool area and the bar is good too. However the food is a let down. Food is generally cold and of poor quality. Very steep walk from the beach. Safe is not free Parking is not free Hassle to get the towels. You need to pay at reception and collect at the spa which is a couple of floors down then on return you need to go to spa first then to reception and bring al the paperwork with you. New Year's Eve dinner and party was very good although we got a slot for 6:15 which being Spanish I found too early Overall ok but will not repeat or recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time you sepnt on sharing your opinión with the public of Expedia, although we wish you had a better Experience with us. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Reading your review we understand that you were not satisfied with the location of our hotel even though we offer free shuttlebus service to the village and beach of Jandía every day. Therefore we would like to encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the Barceló hotel that best meets your holiday needs and wishes. We also lament that apprently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive type of meal plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that,as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program; the room safes, the parking and the Spa are reported to be available against an extra charge. On the other hand it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our New Year’s Eve gala even though we understand that this time we fell short of succeeding your expectations. We are going to keep working and improving our services and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Zsofia Berta Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

Badly managed hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Near beach.
Very Poor service at pool bar. 15-20 people queuing in the evening no reaction by management. Poor food choice at dinner. Restaurant standards poor, tables not cleared in a timely manner. Not four star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anita, We first would like to thank you for the time you spent to review your recent stay in our hotel, although we sincerely lament your disappointment with your overall experience among us. Our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service are respected at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our pool bar and we regret reading your dissatisfaction, our barmen shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours, nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Regarding your comment on the restaurant service, I would like to clarify that we have an information board indicating the peak hours for the dinnertime according to the occupancy of our hotel and that the set-up of the restaurant and consequent service are studied to make sure that all guests can find a free dressed table when entering the restaurant, we lament hearing that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and commit to revise our procedure to enhance our future guests’ dining experiences. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kindest Regards Zsofia Berta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Good hotel, variety of food each day, room comfortable, swimming pools ok for adults and kids
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous , Thank you very much for your feedback! I am happy to hear you liked the variety of the meas in our buffet restaurant and also you could relax due to the comfortable room! We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kind regards from Jandía, Zsofia Berta Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, terribile food

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The hotel is very nice, clean, with comfortable rooms, a good pool area and a decent gym. Its position on a hill doesn't make it difficult at all to reach the beach or the city centre by foot. A bit of exercise is always good on holiday. The negative points are the food and the wifi. Despite advertising wifi in the rooms, the service is non existent on the room. You can only have wifi on the reception area and the signal is awful, weak and keep disconnecting. With regards to the food, the buffet style prevent the dishes of being fresh. Fish and meat are actually very dry, hard and not for sure the best cut. Fruit and vegetable are not fresh (as you could expect from a southern island) but coming out directly from a tin. Bread was good though. If you want to eat healthy, well...forget it, pizza will be your choice most of the time. The queuing system is not the hotel's fault but the guests themselves have no clue how to approach a buffet, how to be fast and efficient. Anyway, overall it has been a good relaxing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

One of the best hotels we've stayed in.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great shops nearby, big market on a Thursday and a great fish spa for 10 euros.
We were very impressed with this hotel, having read some of the reviews we were a bit concerned before we left but all four of us ended up being very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay. Excellent choice of food at every meal time and always different choices at lunch and dinner. Wine, beer, sangria, snacks and other drinks on tap throughout the day, we couldn't find fault with anything. The cleaning was faultless and there were always plenty of staff on hand around the resort. The service in the dining hall was excellent with very polite, hard working staff, the entertainment staff were great with some very impressive dancers. All in all we would definitely go back. We heard a few moans from a minority of people but then there's no pleasing some people who will find fault with anything so if you're not one of these then you'll love it too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london enfield

Great hotel for all the family

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very spacious and clean ,the drinks great choice and the staff very welcoming
Cons: The food not Great cold, the choice as well not great
Location: The beach some shops and coffee bars
A wonderful hotel and a great place to relax for the family we so much enjoyed our self the only down side was the food not a great choice and warm at times, overall the entailment was amazing thank you for a great holiday' a big thank you to Denis who was so careing and a great role model for the children so kind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Enjoyable return visit.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: We had a reasonably priced holiday with very little compromise in terms of quality
Cons: Don't overcook the tuna! Get the pool tables serviced as one is not level and the other failed to release the balls on a number of occasions.
Location: Walk along the beach to Morro Jable or get on some sensible footwear for a walk up the hill behind the hotel for views of the area.
We had a good holiday here. We enjoyed our meals and felt there was a good choice each day. The animation team were great and injected a fun atmosphere throughout the day. Yes, there is a steep walk from the beach to the hotel which may pose a problem if you have limited mobility, but for us it became part of our daily exercise and an excuse for cheese and biscuits after dinner! The nudists on the beach may be a consideration for those with children, but of course thats an issue for the whole area, not just this hotel. Personally, I found it amusing and a good promotion for factor 30+ suncream.