Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to great shopping near by

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The support staff. The food. The costumes. The gift shop off the lobby. Easy parking.
Cons: Nothing really . Loved my stay here.
Location: Close to the two castles.
Loved the costumes throughout the hotel. All from a musical about King Ludwig. I love to sew so I could not believe the beautiful costumes sewn to perfection . Easy to get to the castles near by . We did have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Wonderful location .

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: The location was only a few miles from Neuschwanstein Castle.
Darling hotel in great location. We requesting an accessible room and it was perfect. The staff could not have been nicer and provided everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

This is the place!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Best location if you are going to visit the castles. Right on the pedestrian walkway with many shops and restaurants. Great breakfast at the hotel. A word of caution, not all rooms have air conditioning so check if you are visiting in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff support

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel staff really were very helpful and friendly. The hotel room could use an update, but the stay was overall very enjoyable. Even before finishing our check in, the staff had given us all the information we needed to find our way to local attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Heart of the Old Town

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The location, room and restaurants.
This hotel is fabulous!! The decor was incredible. We loved the location as it was in the heart of the town and just 2 minutes from the train station. I would definitely recommend it!! The food was delicious and all the details around the whole hotel were exciting to look at.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Wonderful experience, a bit short on parking

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The location was excellent. The pedestrian zone was right next to the hotel, and it was so easy to stroll and shop, or walk down to the river. The breakfast spread was amazing AND included with the room. The variety and quality was fantastic. Staff at the desk was happy to help and answer any question, and literally jumped up to attend to us. The rooms were based on historical characters and were nicely decorated and comfortable. Our daughters were thrilled to have WiFi, which seemed to work fine. My husband and I enjoyed the sauna and rain showers upstairs. The only sour note in our perfect stay was that there was no room for our car in the underground garage or the upper lot. We ended up parking in another hotel's parking garage. Make sure to try and reserve a space ahead of time if you are coming by car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay in Fussen

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Sonne is a 5 minute walk from the train station and right on the edge of the old town pedestrian-only center. Our room looked out over the hotel bar garden, and yet we experienced a quiet and pleasant stay throughout our time in Fussen. We ate our breakfasts in the hotel, and were treated to an excellent array of choices including cheeses, meats, eggs, fruit and various breads and pastries. The lobby of this hotel is unimposing, but we had a large clean room, with air conditioning and a nice sized bathroom. The staff were available as needed and helpful when we made specific requests. We didn't use the bar which tended to attract smokers due to its inside/outside setting. The rooms were smoke-free. One thing that the hotel could have done better is provide information on the area when guests arrive. Most people come to Fussen to see the castles. However, since they are not all equally accessible by public transport alternative travel options should be considered unless you are planning to drive your own car everywhere. A map and some suggestions would go a long way to helping guests plan their visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Ab

Perfectly located!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
In the heart of this bavarian town, a beautiful hotel with friendly and knowledgeable staff allows you to explore with ease.
5 out of 5
by Dianne

Great hotel with nice staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel with quirky decorations out of a Wagnerian opera. Air-conditioned! (It was very hot and there is not a/c in many of the hotels we stayed at in Germany.) Nice outdoor restaurant.