Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert

Hotel Moderno

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
I must say that my stay at the Moderno was made by my host. The food was really good cooked well. Stefan made me feel really welcome. The hotel was spotlessly clean to boot. Once you get over the location and the mountain roads. I prayed going up and coming down lol. I used it as a base to go travelling daily and it's very quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Rural retreat

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Food well worth eating in hotel restaurant in the evening. Breakfast adequate .
Cons: Broadband coverage to rooms OK in main areas.
Location: Good area for mountain walks . Lake Como 45 minutes drive . Car essential.
Mountain views remote location away from busy lake areas , very good locally produced food . Clean comfortable rooms .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great host, very helpful. Hotel and rooms were spotless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice little hotel high in the mountain!

Posted Sep 27, 2015
I loved the Albergo moderno: the staff was very welcoming, the room comfortable and good value for money, the food at the hotel restaurant was fantastic!
5 out of 5
by William from Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
Best host ever! We arrived very late at night and found Stefano still up and totally tuned in to what we needed. He prepared a nice plate of meats and cheese and even veg crepe. And a bottle of red wine of course. Albergho Moderno is a great place to stay
5 out of 5
by Carolynn from Patten

Great experience

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
We had a fantastic time. Albergo Moderno is quite off the beaten path, somehow we had misestimated where it was in relation to our target (it was listed as a Lake Como area property ....), but all the same a lovely experience. This is a traditional European style pensione where the proprietor prepares the meals, manages the bookings, etc. Located at the summit in Valle Imagna, the view (and drive) was breathtaking, the air lovely and the experience fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from Cumbria, UK

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location
Location: Superb location for those wanting somewhere off the beaten track.
Fantastic location, provided you don't mind driving round the hairpin bends to get there. Well worth it though. Peaceful location and dramatic scenery. Friendly staff and excellent food. Great location for walkers.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels
It was snowing and raining so I decided to find a cheap hotel instead of spending another night in the tent.( I have been travelling Europe by Motorbike) I was lookng for the cheapest option, but although I didn't pay so much, I really think I struck gold. A little out of the way, but charming, and friendly. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and I really enjoyed taking time out to watch the snow come down, Room was small but spotless with a comfy bed. Would like to come back in the summer next time to enjoy walking in the surrounding hills.
5 out of 5
by Ari

Place to enjoy nature and excellent food

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels
We loved the place, excellent service by Canella Family. Nice area for hiking Resegone. After a hiking day you can relax and enjoy excellent food in hotel restaurant. We stayed there first 3 nights and extended to 4 to explore whole menu. Very good breakfast. If you want to explore surroundig areas by car, it takes time to climb up to Fuipiano. So I suggest to relax and enjoy the nature.
4 out of 5
by Leonie

Fantastic restaurant

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels
Food in the restaurant was top class, local produce, big portions, reasonable price and very tasty. The manager Stefano was extremely helpful and friendly. Although the room was clean and comfortable, some small improvements could be made, soundproofing should be done as we could hear every noise in adjoining rooms and corridor. Towels provided were a bit rough and aged, there should be four pillows in the double rooms as two flat pillows werent enough. These small complaints didnt take away from it being a nice hotel. Highly recommended for the food and the warm welcome.