Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Good service, great location

Posted May 18, 2017
Easy to go around by subway and buses. One station away from shopping area, Tenjin and easy to go to Hakata station by bus. Very good service, super specious and neat room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to the city but run down

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating but the hotel itself had seen better days. Our tub was peeling paint and every faucet and handle leaked. The beds were so hard, the floors were stained and the ac didn't work. It had the feel of a place that had once been a jewel and a blind eye had been turned to the current disrepair. The hotel was also ¥10000 more than the Expedia price I reserved it for. I personally wouldn't stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good service, as expected of Japanese hotel chain

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to subway station (Watanabe-dori), quality breakfast (Japanese & Western styles), courteous staff.
Cons: More variety of food items in the Japanese breakfast set.
Location: Take a bus/taxi or walk to Canal City, a mega shopping/restaurant complex, or to JR Hakata city to catch the Shinkansen.
Checked-in at the New Otani Hakata quite late at night (almost 10pm) after arriving in Fukuoka on a domestic flight from Tokyo Narita. Was pleasantly surprised that the hotel has bellboys to transport luggage and show you to your room, and they politely declined tips when I offered them as appreciation for their help. For Expedia VIP members, the hotel's first floor restaurant gives a small box of cookies and each guest is entitled to one drink from the mini-bar per night. There is a selection of canned beer, juice, coffee and sparkling water in the mini-bar. This Expedia perk is on top of the bottle of mineral water provided to each guest. As I booked the room with breakfast, there was the option for Japanese style breakfast at the 14th floor Japanese restaurant, or the 1st floor Western/Japanese buffet. We had the Japanese style breakfast for two consecutive days and felt there was not much difference in the breakfast items. The fruit vinegar drink was nice though. Staff were polite and helpful with queries on directions, which I tried to ask using simple Japanese and sometimes English. There were always at least two bell-persons near the check-in counters to attend to guests requests, and I always deposited my room key with the staff at the front desk when I went out. Access to Fukuoka airport is surprisingly affordable by taxi, about 3000 yen from The New Otani to the domestic terminal. Will definitely choose to stay here again if I visit Fukuoka in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very nice hotel near down town Tenjin. Hotel staff are very professional and well trained customer service. Bed is hard but comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Outdated, overpriced

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nothing for this outdated and overpriced hotel. Only the amenities where OK but for the price... No soul in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Ma. Linda

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
It was excellent, the guest relations officer, Ms Hara was extra helpful and gracious, making our stay so pleasant. She arranged our trip to Nagasaki, and even arranged that we get a discount. We will gladly come here again. Thank you, New a Otani Hotel, especially Ms. Hard!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The room is clean, comfort and tidy. The japanese breadfast is delicious. Well served and no more words for comment. However, there is no direct public transport from/ to the airport, and the taxi costs me 1500 yen to the international airport.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Excellent

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and excellent service at the New Otani. The room is large and beds are comfortable , including the bathroom which normally is rather small in most hotels in Japan. The location is central with the metro station and supermarket right at its doorstep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

In the center of Fukuoka

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Center of the city
Cons: Shall provide more info for the parking as there are many Japanese language written around
Location: Center in the city so you can find something to eat easily
After having dinner at the Hakata JR station, we drove back to the hotel with GPS. It is quite a bit confuse as the road is a bit complicate for me as tourist. By the way, we were at the hotel. The staff was great. Helping us deliver the luggage. Wifi is good. The parking right behind the hotel was not have much info in English so you might not understand whether you were allowed to park or not. please use google translate.