Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A disappointment

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The room on 8th floor, nice view of Funchal.
Cons: See above
Location: Very close to the Lido and about 15-20mns to the town centre. Plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes in the area.
This was graded as a 3* hotel and is certainly not. It says that rooms were refurbished, the first room we were shown was horrible, old and not clean and nearly underground. We were then offered a much better room on 8th floor, which was clean and re-painted and with a new bathroom. The room was on the small side but that was fine. Access to the hotel was a bit of a nightmare as our building was on top of a steep hill which at the end of a walking day/levada was a bit of a hurdle... Most other hotels are at the bottom of the Lido. There was no WI FI in the room; we had to go to the hotel lobby to be able to have a connection. In the room the TV was at slanted at an angle where we could not see the image properly and the connection stopped every 20 to 30 seconds.. The only meal we had was breakfast and that was of quite poor quality apart from the breads, quince, fruit, cheese. The ham was 'reconstructed ham'! Thank God we ate out every other meals.. All in all we were disappointed - we thought this was a good deal but obviously there was a catch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Nice experience beach 10 min from hotel. Food a bit repetitive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel can be better.....

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I am really disappointing about several things, however the hotel is there and people will still going, so I do not see a point to say anything else.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Steep climb to reception.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Location, right next to the Lido and a lovely long promenade walk (c5 miles).
Cons: The meals were good if you got there early.
The hotel was pleasant, clean with satisfactory food. The access to the hotel is up a very steep hill which, although fine for my wife and I, did cause some guests problems.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcs

Ok hotel but up a very steep hill

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Cost and cleanliness
Cons: Food.
Location: 2km walk into Funchal, and 500m from lido
Hotel was clean staff pleasant, hot food not good, repetitive and not appetising. All good very repetitive. Room very clean, towels changed every other day, but very small. Windy while we were there and the Windows did not fit properly, so very drafty. Indoor pool nice, gym dated. Outdoor pool and terrace area nice. Food at terrace bar very good and reasonably priced. 500m from the sea, vertically, the drive up to the hotel was especially steep, certainly not suitable for people with mobility problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking, Surrey

Excellent Service

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The staff, food and amenities
Location: Very near to town, you can walk through promenade only takes 15 minutes, where you can enjoy and mesmerize the beautiful nature.
This is the second time I stay at this hotel, staff were so friendly and very helpful.I have a small child, so I did not wanted to stay to high up so they accomodated to an even better and child friendly room, very confortable and clean on second floor where we all felt so welcoming. I definately recomend this hotel, very near to town, you can walk through promenade only takes 15 minutes, where you can enjoy and mesmerize the beautiful nature of Madeira: flowers, exotic trees, the views of the mountains and the sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zsolt from Hungary

Memory of a wondeful vacation on the Purple island

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Pros: Balcony with look out for the ocean, minibar, comfortable bad.
Good abd helpful staff, room was quite ok, only plug in bathroom was missed. Breakfast fine. Programs every evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Not the best

Posted Sep 13, 2010
We booked this hotel with 3 star in mind but it was a tired hotel all round and certainly in need of redecoration. The food was not good although the staff were very nice.The breakfast certainly needs to be looked at and the presentation of the evening meal was not very appertising to look at. The pool was good and clean and the overall cleanliness in the hotel was Ok . The entertainment although good was very much the same every night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aalborg

Very noisy hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2009 on Hotels
Ther is much noise in the hotel and from the constructionground outside. Day and night Very small rooms!
4 out of 5
by Mo from Fleet, Hampshire

Hilly Location

Posted Oct 29, 2008
This hotel was clean and friendly and the facilities were very good. Possibly more variety at breakfast would be my only comment. The uphill location was very good exercise, and the courtesy coach very useful