Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Modern room, clean, bright and airy. Kitchen utensils excellent or cooking. Convenient location for shops, restaurants etc
Location: Funchal 20-30 walk. Plenty of restaurants, shops, supermarkets near hotel. Local buses easily accessible.
Stayed here for 2 weeks on self-catering basis. Room was excellent, modern with Ikea fittings, making it bright and airy. Lovely balcony with rattan corner sofa and table of chairs overlooking the road but with a lovely sea view, nice place to sit and people watch. Once the patio doors are closed it was so quite, you couldn't hear any traffic, not that there is much anyway. Kitchenette was lovely with lots of equipment, microwave, kettle, coffee machine, 2 ring glass top cooker, plenty of utensils. Very impressed. Beds were exceptionally comfortable, so a good nights sleep every night. Large shower with plenty of hot water, clean towels everyday if needed, room serviced everyday to empty bins etc. We didn't use a lot of the services available at the hotel, ie breakfast, dinner etc, but you could get breakfast for 5euros a day and dinner was 10euros. Think they also had some sort of entertainment too but we did'nt take part. The supermarket Pingo Doce is 2 mins walk so very convenient. Sea walk across the road and down the steps, then across the road. There is a free swimming spot where locals use. There are no beaches, as such, here, there is the lido which is 5euros per person, 1.80 for OAPs! but we didnt use this, just the free space. Some lovely walks but everything is either up hill or down hill, or steps, Madeira is a very hilly place so you get plenty of exercise no matter where you go. Funchal is about 20-30 min walk. Local buses plentiful, 5euros a day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Changed rooms 3 times

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was ok and reasonably priced
Cons: entire place needs renovations, and definitely air condition installed.
Location: Excellent location. We walked to Funchal, lots of restaurants and shops steps away from hotel.
We were given a room that smelled moldy and I found a large cockroach on the floor. We asked to be moved and the second room was not much better..just a little cleaner--but the mattress was the thickness of a sofabed mattress. The next morning we asked for another room or we were going to go to another hotel, and Joselino the front door clerk was very nice and gave us a newer room, better mattress and cleaner not smelly. That made our vacation a better one. Hotel does not have a/c which was hard on me, but Joselino gave us a stand up fan which helped. The slide door in the bedroom does not have a screen so if you keep the door open all night for fresh air you stand the chance of critters coming in. I contacted expedia and they didn't get back to me until my vacation was over. They were not much help.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great Place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place to stay in Funchal

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible property with no fans or air conditioning. Dated hotel with terrible beds and bed linens. Location is good but I would not recommend this place to anyone till they renovate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DAGENHAM

Hotel in need of update.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The dining room and breakfast.
Cons: A lot.
Location: Located in the hotel zone and a short walk to lots of restaurant, a very good supermarket and close to a main bus route into Funchal.
We stayed here at the beginning of our holiday for 3 nights. Room on 8th floor overlooking the garden and partial sea view. This room badly need to be done up. It was bland, bed linen and towels thin. Mini kitchenette very basic. We also stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip when we had a 3rd floor sea view room at the front of hotel. This room looked as though it might have been done up but not recently. Kitchenette bigger. This room received a lot of traffic noise. Furnishings in main hotel areas were worn and tired looking. The only decent room was the dining room which looked fresh and well designed. The breakfast here was very good. All the hotel staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
by jonny5 from London

average to acceotablet

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
average
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well positioned budget hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: the position
Cons: The hotel needs updating. Balconies are cracked and there are health and safety issues wrt the bathroom which has an electric socket in it
Location: Excellent position for exploring the island. Pretty touristy though and not quiet as close to a fairly busy coastal road
The rooms are basic and in need of repair. The position is good, close to the sea front and many excellent restaurants. the breakfast is adequate but definitely not exceptional. staff are helpful. Kitchen has very few utensils and no kettle so self catering is not really an option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Florasol

Posted Mar 19, 2016
It's an ok hotel to stay at, you get what you pay for. It's one of the cheapest on the island so don't expect much. Good location with nice ocean views, however the hotel needs an update, hotel staff could be nicer, some toiletries would be nice too. I personally wouldn't stay there again, but it was good this time round, it saved me some cash that I used for travelling around the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire England

A nice hotel good value for money.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The balconies facing the sea. The swimming pool and patio. The lunch time snacks and cocktails.The beautiful flower arrangements throughout the hotel.
Cons: Evening dinner could be better, a bit more choice perhaps?
Location: Lots of eateries nearby and a Supermarket. Close enough to walk into city centre. A good tour shop next door.Can recommend the tours and the walks.
A very positive experience,staff extremely friendly and helpful..Would book here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
The amenities were very nice. The concierge was outstanding!