Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Good hotel in an excellent position

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Good hotel in an excellent position for walking into the old town, the marina & the lido area. All of the staff spoke English well & nothing was too much trouble. 3 tiny things which could be improved on were - 1 - a kettle with tea & coffee in the room would have been good 2 - old fashioned shower curtain over bath managed to wind itself around you whenever you showered! 3 - pillows were pretty lumpy However, none of things spoiled the overall experience. We would happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Hotel excellence

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Everything was superb
Cons: The restaurant sometimes feels like a staff canteen breakfast is good but in the evening softer lighting and a little bit more finesse and light music
Location: Excellent location
Second stay in this lovely friendly and conveniently located hotel. Not far From Funchal centre with spectacular views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Just returned from a second stay at this hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Lunchtime snacks. A juice bar or coffee shop with cakes would be good extra features.
Location: Lots locally and 20 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal.
We were a party of 5, ranging in age from 51 to 83. The hotel staff were excellent with reasonable or good English. Plenty of sun beds this time of year.and evening piano playing or singers. The pool is large enough for a swim and there is a jacuzzi area that is large and an added bonus. We only had breakfast with a great selection of English or continental, cereals and fruit. A modern contemporary feel hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. Safes in the room that are chargeable and reasonable and the hotel drinks were priced reasonably too. You have hair dryers provided and can ask for a kettle and cups to be provided for your room. Madeira is hilly and the hotel is a slight and gradual climb up from Funchal town about 20 minutes walk away. Down hill there. There are plenty of good restaurants locally and on average £25 to £30 per person with Sangria. Took trips around the island and over to Porto Santos. Some difficult steep and windy driving to the Mount but great walks too for the younger ones of us. We would go back again to the hotel as very good value or money, clean and staff are friendly and shelpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lisbon portugal

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff is very friendly
Location: Good location near the center of the town
Very good experience the staff and the facilities was the best to remember
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Hotel in a good location for the Lido and Old Town

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We had a good holiday staying at the Quinta Da Sol. The Buffet breakfast was plentiful, of good quality and quantity, staff are very friendly, facilities are good, the pool is not very deep but adequate to swim and cool off. The room and balcony were spacious and well decorated. The bathroom was clean but dated and and requires modernising. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers however the wardrobes were very dark inside and it was difficult to see inside even with the lights on. My room had a kettle and cups but there was no complimentary tea and coffee which would have been a nice touch especially after the 4hr journey to get there. Good sized subbed towels were provided which were changed on a regular basis as were the bath towels. I requested a Iron and ironing board from house keeping so I could iron my creased clothes but was told there was none which was very disappointing from a 4 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

OK Hotel that met expectations

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: It was OK for a short break, but would be disappointing for longer
Cons: Room comfort. Breakfast faciltities
Location: Well situation to the west and within walkable distance of the old city
Hotel chosen at last minute for short break. Generally OK but breakfasts were over-run by coach tour groups
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Mónica Ferreira / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, A short message to thank you so much for staying at the Enotel Quinta do Sol and for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of Madeira. We are most pleased to learn that you had a positive holiday experience and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in a future visit. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaula

Good hotel close to many restaurants and bars.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: hot tob as it was a great size for many
Cons: just to extend the bar so that it closes after midnight as it closed at 23.00 and then we had to go out if we wanted to drink longer
good hotel close tomany restaurants and bars but you did not need to go out as the food served in the hotel restaraunt was very good. Easy access to Taxi's for sight seeing and if you want the bus but I prefer to use a Taxi in Madeira as they will take you to off the beaten track local restsurants and bars where you get great local food and drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Monica Ferreira / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol. It is compensating reading comments like yours, certainly a motivating factor towards maintaining our quality service standards. It will be a pleasure to have you back again in our hotel. Our best regards and once again ‘Obrigada’ for yourreview.
5 out of 5
by Johanna

Loved it!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, front desk associate was very helpful in finding the best tour for my visit.
4 out of 5
by Elzbieta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and spacious room. However the room was very dark, I would recommend asking them for lamps to put inside your rooms as they have too many on display around the hotel!!