Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Pretty average.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Good location with restaurants and shops within easy walking distance and access to local transport.
A surly greeting from the Reception Staff. No porter to assist with luggage. No help with pointing out the lifts. A charge of €15 for a key to the room safe wheareas in all hotels we've stayed in before it is taken as a deposit and returned on leaving. Friendly cleaning staff. Room clean and tidy and very comfortable with the sea view. Breakfast as always was very good with lots of fresh fruit. Overall disappointing after our stay there 5 years ago. I wonder if the 4 views Baia is any better?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Our room was large and well appointed with what we needed. Lots of amenities. Free parking!!
Cons: No hair conditioner or body lotion, but this seems to be the case in a lot of European hotels. No courtesy bus to Funchal.
Location: I recommend doing your grocery shopping at Pingo Doce for better prices (not the mini markets). Better rent a car or book a tour to see island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Hove

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, relaxed and good value. The food choice was good and the service reasonable especially at off-peak eating times.
Cons: Nowhere is perfect but this was very good.
Location: There is a tour office next to the hotel. We took trips to Nun's valley (stunning) and also did interesting and enjoyable 2 guided levada walks
This freshly refurbished hotel has comfortable spacious rooms and excellent facilities. Funchal is a 30-40 minute walk or a very inexpensive bus ride from close to the hotel. We had a sea view room facing South and with a pleasant balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2010 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A good hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2009
I stayed at the Four Views Monumental hotel for 11 nights and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very enjoyable with lots of fresh fruit(cold milk for cereal would have been better!). There was always enough sunbeds and umbrellas which was great. Maybe a little more variety with the entertainment.
4 out of 5
by TB from Sussex

Not bad at all

Posted Mar 14, 2009
Hotel is in the style of the 20's but none the worse for that. The staff were very friendly and location ideal for Funchal with easy road access to the motorway and rest of the island. Typical tour group hotel used by older clental with free nightly entertainment in the bar. Hotel and Pool area well maintained and clean - staff service good. A good value for money hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

A most enjoyable place to stay.

Posted Mar 8, 2009
A mature Hotel in excellent condition, extremely clean with courteous and smart staff in every area. The rooms are large, quiet and very well fitted. The buffet breakfast and dinner had ample choices and were of a good quality with fresh vegetables and fruit very evident. The pools, gym and spa facilities were very good. A 20-25 minute stroll into the centre of Funchal makes it a good location. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Aberdeen, Scotland

Good Location

Posted Dec 16, 2008
The Monumental Lido hotel is conveniently located a 30-40 minute stroll from the town centre of Funchal. Buses pass the door too so that option is there along with taxis at around 5 euros into town. The buffet breakfast sets you up for the day and the pool area is perfect for relaxing. Evening entertainment was provided too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan,WI

Hotel was great..would recommend to most travelers

Posted Dec 2, 2008
This hotel was great..breakfasts (included) were good ...an ample buffet...we walked from our hotel to the Marina, city center and old town each day.about 45 minutes..supermarkets, and restaurants very near ...took 3 Strawberry World tours....office next to hotel...all excellent. weather great..all was good