Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

marks jollys.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff very helpful good for taxis and buses easy access.
Cons: Certain parts of the hotel could be modernised and updated.
Location: The location is good on the main strip easy to get taxis and buses into Funchal centre.in easy walking of a good variation of restaurants.
Great views from my hotel balcony a nice comfortable room the breakfast could have been better a nice continental breakfast but poor English breakfast.the pool and bar area was okay but could be improved getting a little dated but overall a nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chester

Great location, very nice hotel overlooking sea

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Super quiet in rooms at night
Cons: Shaky WiFi only available in lobby
Location: Eating, drinking, shopping in abundance everywhere. No sandy beaches but busy Marina area with every type of boat trip 20 min walk or shuttle bus ride
Having never been to Madeira before, had a few preconceived ideas about what it was like. Tired old hotels in tired old resort perched on a volcano maybe. Absolutely not! While this hotel was far from new it very smartly kept with large very quiet rooms, excellent aircon and great views. The island is stunning with modern restaurants mixed in with the traditional on different levels above the sea. If you haven't been before, Funchal is steep with the buildings and hotels tiered up over the sea. Alto Lido is on about the third of these levels with the first being a promenade. This was just right for us, any higher and walking would become tiring. Loads of shops, hotels, bars and restaurants very close on the same road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster UK

nice hotel close to promenade

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect, buffet breakfast was excellent
Location: location perfect, restaurants close by, pick ups from hotel for trips, courtesy bus into Funchal centre.
close to promenade, supermarket, lots of places to eat nearby. Can easily walk into Funchal centre if you like walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Delaware, USA

Nice Hotel close to all amenities

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Good area. Nice entertainment each night.
Cons: Bed mattresses were a bit hard and could be better
Location: Great location next to other hotels and several restaurants and transportation choices.
Very friendly and helpful staff, in particular one of the front desk ladies that helped with my delayed arrival. We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed the variety shows in the lobby lounge each night. Room was comfortable and clean. Will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nuneaton uk

Madeira weekend

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Nice room with a view and a great breakfast. Staff very friendly and very helpful when my door lock packed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Hotel was sound, food good, pool area and terraces were clean and tidy, room also good, maybe a little dated, but good. Beds comfortable too, the only thing that let the hotel down was the poor air conditioning in the rooms, as the party I was with had 4 rooms in all, dotted around the hotel and all had the same problem, just blowing warm air. Apart from that, the hotel was great.
4 out of 5
by Roger

Bang on for a Big Bundle

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
On this first visit the stay; for the the three of us was one night only before taking up our week at our Timeshare across the road We had front facing adjoining double rooms with connected balcony and separated internally by a small v. basic kitchen; so my daughters room incorporated a dining area and her bed was a double sized put-u-up. Breakfast was a full buffet couldn't be faulted either on quality or quantity. The whole deal at a v competitive price. Look forward to visiting again staying longer and taking advantage of pool and gym use.
5 out of 5
by Cecil Mark

Very Pleasant Stay- Great Staff & Good Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great stay at the Alto Lido last week. Everyone was accommodating, but want to give a big 'Thank You' to Miguel who went out of his way to assist us when my wife suffered a badly pulled hamstring injury & was having difficulty walking. He was able to rework the bookings on a very busy day in order to enable us to stay in our room for an extra 4+ hours before departure. As for the hotel itself, it was very clean and comfortable. Room ha pretty much everything you could want. Breakfast was excellent and the location great. Alto Lido may not be the newest or fanciest of the hotels in the Lido area, but it is an excellent value and was perfect for us. Easy access to restaurants, shopping and public transport. Also, it's located on a level street so easy walking to and from various other areas. Only minor disappointment was lack of 'wifi' in the room, but it was available free in the public areas of the hotel, so not a major issue. I can whole-heartedly recommend the Alto Lido and would have no reservations whatsoever in booking there again.
5 out of 5
by caroline

J & C Edinburgh

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Helpful staff on all levels. Clean comfortable and breakfast buffet good. Area had excellent selection of restaurants nearby. We only learned about the Courtesy coach at the end of our hols so good idea to check times etc with reception although there is a very good bus service from just outside the hotel (but down some steep steps which is not so good for the less mobile).
4 out of 5
by José

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels