Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Pros: location friendly staff good breakfast
Cons: ?update maybe...it had old charm
Location: just off main shopping area on quiet street, walking distance to cable car and waterfront
Enjoyed our stay at Hotel do Carmo; great location near the old town, waterfront promenade, shops and grocery store. Very comfortable tho dated, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast with hot and cold items.. Would definitely recommend and would stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills. Excellent staff

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at Hotel do Carmo for 8 nights. This is a no frills hotel. Basic amenities but clean. I requested an Iron which they do not provide. My room had a double bed which was not very comfortable, and there are only ceiling fans. A charge of 5 euros a day for a fridge if required. Wifi was good Breakfast provided was the same eveyday but had enough variety to accommodate everyone. I didn't get a chance to use the pool as it was always busy. The staff are excellent, very helpful and friendy. The day of my departure, I left very early before breakfast was being served. Reception staff the night before and the morning of, made sure I had access to some breakfast before my departure. There is a Pingo Doce supermarket around the corner. The city centre, Mercado and old town is also a 5min walk. Praia Barrerinha is a 10-15min walk, and is a swimming complex in the ocean. its cost a few Euros but good for a dip in the ocean. The Bar next door is great for sunset drinks Over all a good stay but I feel it was over priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location in central Funchal

Posted Oct 14, 2017
This hotel is clean but fairly basic. I would class this as a budget hotel. Its location is excellent and is close to all the attractions in Funchal. You can walk to the old Town and to the Marina and cable car from the hotel. The hotel is fine for a short break in Madeira especially if you are on a budget. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet is good. I would happily stay at this hotel again for a short break,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent place but I would not stay there again

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is fantastic!
Cons: Rooms. Bed is not comfortable, towels are stained, and there is no AC.
It is a nice 3 star hotel, but I would not stay there again. The price is pretty good for Funchal and the location is great. The staff is friendly, although the night auditor was taking a nap when we came down to check out around 5 AM. The bed was rather uncomfortable and we were lucky it was not a warm night as there is no AC in the rooms - that's my mistake for not verifying but what hotel doesn't have Air Conditioning in 2017? The towels in our room had yellow stains which is rather unappealing, even when you know they've been cleaned. The price is low, but it's not a fantastic deal, you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
by P G

Great Madeira Hotel.

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff and a good breakfast. The location is excellent as you are right in the old town and within a 10 minute walk of many excellent restaurants. I would rather stay here than at one of the 4* hotels in the Lido area which is too cluttered with modern hotels and too far from the harbor and old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great helpful staff, hotel in a good location near the market and old town
5 out of 5
by Roger

Good stay

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
A clean functional hotel, good value for money and excellent service. Located at the edge of the old town, it's only ten minutes to the cable car and harbour. Breakfast was ample and shower pressure was enough to peel the skin off
4 out of 5
by Bobby from Leeds

Great hotel AMAZING Location.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location.. Matter of fact amazing location. Helpful stuff. Hotel could use update has a very vintage feel. Great breakfast though not much vegetarian options. Would not hesitate to stay again. Great TV channels. Amazing rooftop pool with beautiful views, especially sunset views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; Great staff

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed from just prior to Christmas until New Year's. The hotel is nice enough, clean and neat. The location is great with downtown restaurants just a few minutes walk from there. But it is the staff that makes this a great spot to vacation in. Nadia, Tania, Roberto and the rest of the staff were patient, helpful and tireless in aiding us with our stay. I would recommend this hotel just on the strength of the staff and can't thank them enough for their help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Good location, great staff. Breakfast a bit repetitive and the beds and pillows a bit soft for my preference.