Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by R B

Satisfactory stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Food was excellent ,service superb ,very friendly staff ,a warm welcome from reception staff when we arrived ,a very nice hotel will certainly visit again ,good value for money .
5 out of 5
by Sue from Wooler

excellent value for money

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is small and welcoming. The room décor is a little dated but very clean and comfortable. The dining room is lovely and the food - both breakfast and dinner was excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and we enjoyed our week's stay despite the weather being dull and windy. I can't believe how reasonable their prices are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne from Tasmania

Keep this place a secret as we wish to return!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Every thing
Caring, helpful staff (especially from Goncalo and Sonja but including all staff). Excellent quiet location with good views. Easy walk to the local bus stop for access to Funchal. Fantastic meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris and Linda from Cotswolds, UK

Enjoyable break

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Excellent breakfast
Cons: no tea tray in the room
Location: An uphill walk but a local bus service nearby
Our second visit and spent 3 nights at the hotel, wonderful food. Room service tray of tea good value but would have liked a tea tray in the room. Would certainly make a return visit if possible.
5 out of 5
by Laila Hjortland

Flott opphold på et bra hotell i rolige omgivelser

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Vi ble svært godt mottatt på hotell Escola! De som jobbet i resepsjonen var smilende og blide og alltid klare til å hjelpe oss med ulike spørsmål, f.eks ang levada vandring, bussruter osv. Rommene var forholdsvis store, greit møblert, de var lyse og fine med havutsikt! Det var kjøleskap på rommet! Der var svært godt renhold overalt på hotellet! Frokosten var god, og personalet i spisesalen var hyggelige! Vi spiste middag der noen ganger, maten var god og billig, smilende personale og god service! Der var en fin hage og flotte terrasser i fellesområdene!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joakim from Stockholm

Perfekt klimat

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lugn avkopplande
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nettes und kleines Hotel in Stadtnähe

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Das Hotelpersonal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Die Ausstattung war ausreichend (Kühlschrank, Safe gegen Gebühr, Badewanne, Fön, äterer Fernseher, Balkon), allerdings sind die Möbel schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Die Zimmer sind sehr sauber. WLAN gibt es im Erdgeschoss und in der 1. Etage. In den Zimmern ist kein Internetzugang möglich. Parkplätze sind direkt vor dem Eingang und waren auch immer ausreichend vorhanden, daher hat man nie einen Parkplatz suchen müssen. Das Frühstückbuffet war in Ordnung, es hätte etwas abwechlungsreicher sein können. Am Abend bietet das Hotel ein Menü für einen vernünftigen Preis an, das auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen ist. Das Hotel liegt etwas außerhalb der Innenstadt, man hat direkten Blick auf das Meer und einen kleinen Strand. Eine Buhaltestelle befindet ca. 100 m entfernt. Ein kleiner Supermarkt ist ebenfalls schnell fußläufig zu erreichen. Bustickets bekommt man an der Rezeption, die man in dem Supermarkt "aufladen" kann.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dupré

Posted Feb 27, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed one week in February in the hotel and we were very pleased with this stay. The service was perfect. The room was big and clean, towels are changed each day. The view to the ocean and the sunset is very beautiful. The breakfast is very good (highlights: fresh fruits, fresh bread), only the strawberry jam was too industrial. The restaurant proposes dinner for 15€ pro person, it is a very good solution. The hotel is not away from Funchal but a walk to the city center will take you 1h. There are several buses that pass near the hotel: line 2 bus stop is 2 min away from the hotel, and there is also line 1 some 300 m further. Very beautiful walks are possible on the seaside (10 min from hotel). A shopping center is available 10 min. away from the hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.