Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

New years Eve in Madeira

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: I loved the view and the fact that the suit had separate sleeping rooms for the kids and the adults.
Cons: Milk for coffee
Location: Very easy access to the whole of Funchal and several bus companies doing tours of other parts of Madeira very accessible.
Went to see the fire works and was pleasantly surprised to find such a lovely and affordable hotel within easy reach of the center of Funchal and well within the tourist area and therefor accommodated nicely. The only fault that i had with this room was that there was not any kind of milk or substitute for my coffee which would have been nice first thing in the morning as i have 2 children and sometime was not able to get to breakfast on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Guida Silva - Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. As for the milk or other, we are sorry you did not requested it, as we would've been happy to suplly it for you. We will be looking forward to having you with us again soon! Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect. It is close to the bus stop, shops and restaurants and is only about 10 minutes away from the city by bus. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The hotel was also recently refurbished so almost all the furnitures are new and clean. The only thing they can improve is on the selection of the breakfast. Maybe they could include more pastries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrowford UK

Advertised as a 4 star hotel, falls very short of

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: the staff were warm friendly and very accommodating
Cons: swimming pool, children's play area is a area health hazard and dangerous. likewise the gym and saunas. Restaurant dated and food not good
Location: Great bars and Restuarants located nearby which are a must visit. Beautiful views out to see
Upon arrival the Hotel we were greeted by warm friendly staff. We were told that we had been upgraded to a superior room which was unexpected but nice. A tour of the hotel revealed several faults some of which were dangerous and a health hazard.Torn and ripped astro turf around the swimming pool. The children's play area was disgusting. Dirty unclean sunbeds. Stains on carpets,torn towels in room. Outdated paradise bar with torn dirty astro turf. No pictures on corridor. Food not up to standard at Breakfast. Not befitting 4 star rating, at best 2. we tried to relocate via expedia but the customer service didn't want to know unless we paid an additional fee. I will avoid booking with expedia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Hotel Girassol

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Amazing stay! Staff very friendly and knowledgeable,breakfast is nice and the pool area was great to chill after the long day travel. We recommend it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not a 4* hotel!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: my room/lounge/balcony
Cons: Most things - need to quality control facilities for cleanliness. Also breakfast could be more varied.?
Location: ?? I walked a lot....................
Whole of the area around the swimming pool/bar area could do with a good clean!
5 out of 5
by BRIAN from UK

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
Most enjoyable stay , we have stayed here before,friendly staff ,clean, good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north devon

hotel girassol

Posted Sep 20, 2011 on Hotels
lovely big room we were on the top floor so we had a good view, wish there had been a kettle in the room as its nice to make a cuppa at any time. pool area could be updated but it was clean. food good choice but we only stayed 2 nights and only ate 1 night in the hotel. staff friendly especially the receptionist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Girassol Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2011 on Hotels
A smart hotel in the tourist hotel area close to restaurants and an easy bus ride into Funchal town centre. It has two swimming pools and a pretty tropical garden behind. Good buffet breakfast including hot and cold drinks, cereal, rolls, egg and bacon and fruit. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a bedroom and dividing door to the lounge area with sofa bed. Rooms have a fridge but no kettle for tea/coffee so take your own. The airport bus conveniently stops right by the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Piscines, propreté, personnel
Cons: Sauna; Petit déjeuner (beaucoup de choix mais peu de qualité) insonorisation des chambres
Location: Quartier du Lido ultra touristique
Hotel accueillant, avec de belles installations (piscines, parking). Seul bémol sur le sauna payant et sur l'insonorisation des chambres tres mauvaise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Guida Silva - Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Cher Client, Três hereuse de savoir que votre séjour a été bien passé chez nous! En vous remerciant votre comentaire nos attendons votre prochaine visite! Bien Cordialement
5 out of 5
by Ricardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels